Ireland became the eighth and final team to book their spot in the quarter finals of Rugby World Cup 2011 after a 36 – 6 defeat of Italy in Dunedin today.

Bakkies Botha will be back for South Africa in the quarter finals of the Rugby World Cup 2011..

Ireland finished top of Pool C with 17 points and qualify with second placed Australia (15 points).

Other pool winners include host nation New Zealand, England and defending champions South Africa.

The finishing positions of the final eight teams and the quarter finals draw means a northern hemisphere team cannot meet a southern hemisphere team until the final on 23 October.

The RWC 2011 quarter finals fixtures are:

Saturday, 8 October 

Ireland vs  Wales at Wellington Regional Stadium

England  vs France  at Eden Park, Auckland

Sunday, 9 October

South Africa vs Australia at Wellington Regional Stadium

New Zealand  vs Argentina  at Eden Park, Auckland

View News By Category
News Archive