Italo Ferreira claims maiden Surfing World Title

Italo Ferreira (BRA) is the 2019 World Surf League (WSL) Champion after defeating his closest rival, Gabriel Medina (BRA), in a heated Final in six-to-eight foot waves at the 2019 Billabong Pipe Masters, the final stop on the Men’s WSL Championship Tour (CT).

On Ferreira’s path to victory, he overcame Medina, two-time World Champion and formidable competitor, in the Final, and Kelly Slater (USA), 11-time World Champion and seven-time Billabong Pipe Master in the Semifinals.

En route to his second-place finish, Medina also eliminated Caio Ibelli (BRA) in dramatic fashion with an interference to top off his win in Heat 5, R/16.

This heat was a rematch of the MEO Rip Curl Pro Portugal Quarterfinals where Medina earned an interference penalty against Ibelli. Ibelli exits with a 9th place result, matching his personal best at the Billabong Pipe Masters.

“Just playing the game,” said Medina. “It was my priority, I knew if I had an interference that I was going to count my big wave.

There was like 20 seconds left so it’s all good. I wasn’t sure [if Caio would have gotten the score], that’s why I went.

He needed a 5, but it was really hard out there. I just had to play the game. Sometimes if it’s in the rules, you gotta play the game.”

marina mile marina martinique open water swim jeffreys bay

Article continues below...

Billabong Pipe Masters Final Results:
1 – Italo Ferreira (BRA) 15.56
2 – Gabriel Medina (BRA) 12.94

Billabong Pipe Masters Semifinal Results:
SF 1: Italo Ferreira (BRA) 14.77 DEF. Kelly Slater (USA) 2.57
SF 2: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 13.00 DEF. Griffin Colapinto (USA) 7.10

Billabong Pipe Masters Quarterfinal Results:
QF 1: Italo Ferreira (BRA) 15.66 DEF. Yago Dora (BRA) 13.50
QF 2: Kelly Slater (USA) 12.94 DEF. Jack Freestone (AUS) 9.26
QF 3: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 17.63 DEF. John John Florence (HAW) 12.33
QF 4: Griffin Colapinto (USA) 9.84 DEF. Michel Bourez (FRA) 8.77

Billabong Pipe Masters Round of 16 Results:
HEAT 1: Italo Ferreira (BRA) 11.84 DEF. Peterson Crisanto (BRA) 4.23
HEAT 2: Yago Dora (BRA) 7.50 DEF. Julian Wilson (AUS) 6.27
HEAT 3: Jack Freestone (AUS) 5.00 DEF. Ricardo Christie (NZL) 4.23
HEAT 4: Kelly Slater (USA) 7.33 DEF. Seth Moniz (HAW) 6.20
HEAT 5: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 4.23 DEF. Caio Ibelli (BRA) 1.13
HEAT 6: John John Florence (HAW) 5.66 DEF. Soli Bailey (AUS) 3.90
HEAT 7: Griffin Colapinto (USA) 10.67 DEF. Jesse Mendes (BRA) 8.50
HEAT 8: Michel Bourez (FRA) 13.43 DEF. Kolohe Andino (USA) 9.50

Men’s 2019 WSL CT Jeep Leaderboard (after Billabong Pipe Masters):
1 – Italo Ferreira (BRA) 59,740 pts
2 – Gabriel Medina (BRA) 56,475 pts
3 – Jordy Smith (ZAF) 49,985 pts
4 – Filipe Toledo (BRA) 49,145 pts
5 – Kolohe Andino (USA) 46,655 pts


Related Posts