EP excels at SA Longboard Champs

The Eastern Province Longboard Surfing team produced six winners and placing second to Western Province in the South African Longboard Champs held last week.

Although numerous surfboards were broken as a result of the swells wrapping into Mossel Bay, there were fortunately no serious injuries sustained during the seven days of the contest.

The following EP surfers excelled in their respective divisions:

Steven Sawyer (JBay) – Open Mens division winner, Ryan Lightfoot (JBay) – u18 Boys winner, Crystal Hullet (St Francis Bay) – U18 Girls winner, Kay Holt – Divas (Over 45’s women) winner, Duncan Scott – Grand Masters winner and Peter Randle – Legends (Over 60’s men) winner.

SA Champ Ryan Lightfoot. All photos by Robbie Irlam
SA Champ Ryan Lightfoot. All photos by Robbie Irlam

Many personal accolades were bestowed upon the EP surfers with Dave Lipschitz being awarded the Most Outstanding Surfer of the event.

Article continues below...

The full list of EP Finalists follows: U14 Boys: 1. Kye McGregor, 4. Warren Weidmann U16 Boys: 1. Ryan Lightfoot, 3.Tristan Torr U16 Girls: 2. Kelly Fenton, U18 Girls: 1. Crystal Hullet, 3. Kia Fenton Open Mens: 1. Steven Sawyer, 2. Grant Beck Masters: 2. Gregg Clarke Grand masters: 1. Duncan Scott, 2. Ralph Reilly Senior Ladies: 4. Deborah Patterson Kahunas: 3. Dave McGregor, 4. Craig van Greunen Veterans: 2. Gavin Seaman, 4. Gavin Rother Divas: 1. Kay Holt Legends: 1. Peter Randle, 3. Dave Lipschitz

Team Trophy: 1. WP (105658 points), 2. EP 99900, 3. Eden Soul Surfers (71530), 4. KZN (60223)

jbay winterfest logo

Related Posts