Plenty of action at SA Motocross Nationals

A warm and dry day greeted the competitors at Rover MX in Port Elizabeth as they gathered for the first event in the Monster Energy TRP Distributors SA MX Nationals.

There was tangible excitement in the air as riders got to grips with the track on their practice laps, with spectators and support crew watching closely.

Under the watchful eyes of knowledgeable commentator Len van der Westhuisen the first heat races got under way at 10am, and it was full-tilt from the get-go. A snarl up on the first turn saw five riders down during the first heat MX 2 race, but order was soon restored and Kerim Fitzgerald (Gauteng) was looking solid.

Tristan Purdon (PE) was another rider showing great form from the start, banking an eventual third place overall in MX2 class, behind Kerim Fitzgerald (Gauteng) and Anthony Raynard (CT)

Raynard was one of the stand-outs, with a 2nd place (MX1) and a 1st (MX2), while in the Ladies it was all about Brittany Cuthbert (Gauteng), who was streets ahead of her competition throughout the day.

The Rover Motorcycle Club, with its 50-year history, was a vibrant and festive venue, and the track and surrounds were packed with spectators, media and teams gearing up for heats.

The 50cc and high school divisions were well attended, and it is heartening to see the sport is in good hands going forward with so much junior involvement. Neil van der Vyver (Western Cape) was the winner of the 50cc class, Christiaan Cilliers (Gauteng) came out on top in the 85cc Juniors and the Pro Mini class was won by Cameron Duro (KZN) while the High School class was won by Port Elizabeth’s Keegan Hickson-Mahoney.

Neville Bradshaw (UK/JHB) MX 1 Overall Winner © Eric Palmer / Afreakin Photography
Neville Bradshaw (UK/JHB) MX 1 Overall Winner © Eric Palmer / Afreakin Photography

Final results:


1. Neville Bradshaw (UK)

2. Anthony Raynard (CT)

3. Richard VD Westhuizen (JHB)


1. Anthony Raynard (CT)

2. Kerim Fitzgerald (JHB)

3. Tristan Purdon (EC)


1. Ian Topliss (JHB)

2. Ryan Hunt

3. Stuart Laing (EC)

MX 50cc

1. Neil van der Vyver (CT)

2. Seth Young (Swaziland)

3. Jordan Dewdney

85cc Juniors

Article continues below...

1. Christiaan Cilliers (JHB)

2. Ike Klaassen (CT)

3. Jonathan Mlimi (JHB)

Pro Mini

1. Cameron Durow (KZN)

2. Justin Sangster (CT)

3. Camden McLellan (JHB)

65 cc

1. Hayden Tulley (JHB)

2. Daiyaan Manuel

3. Tyler Tarantino

High School.

1. Keegan Hickson Mahony (EC)

2. Seth van den Abeele (EC)

3. Slade Smith (JHB)


1. Brittany Cuthbert (JHB)

2. Leah Heygate (Zambia)

3. Toni Jardine (JHB)


1. Mason Buist (KZN)

2. Theo Halgreen (EC)

3. Brandon Howden (EC)

Related Posts