National Motocross Champs in PE this weekend

The first leg of The 2016 South African National Motocross Championships will be held this Saturday in Port Elizabeth.

The venue for the opening leg is Rover MX, Victoria Drive, Schoenmakerskop, Port Elizabeth, and the racing, sponsored by Monster Energy and TRP Distributors, will start at approximately 10am.

Cost of entry is R50 for adults, with kids under 12 free.

Last year PE hosted Round 3 of the Monster Energy South African Motocross Nationals.

First event first race favourites are always hard to call, but it is safe to include the following:

Championship Classes and Favourites:

50cc: Seth Young (Swaziland), Neil van der Vyver (WC), Jordan van Wyk (KZN), Kyle Townsend (PE)

65cc: Hayden Tully (Gauteng), Blake Young (Swaziland), Dylan Kirk (Swaziland)

85cc Juniors (small wheeled 85cc): Jonathan Mlimi (Gauteng), Ike Klaassen (CT), Christiaan Cilliers (Gauteng)

Article continues below...

Pro Mini (big wheeled 85cc): Camden Mc Lellan (Gauteng), Justin Sangster (CT), Cameron Durow (KZN)

High School (125cc): Jordan Venter (Gauteng), Regan Wasmuth (Zimbabwe), Slade Smith (Gauteng), Keegan Hickson-Mahony (PE)

MX2 (250cc): Kerim Fitz-Gerald (Gauteng), Tristan Purdon (Eastern Cape), Anthony Raynard (WC), Neville Bradshaw (UK), Joshua Mlimi (Gauteng), Jason Visser (Gauteng)

MX1 (450cc): Kerim Fitz-Gerald (Gauteng), Sacha Naude (Gauteng), Anthony Raynard (WC), Neville Bradshaw (UK), Richard van der Westhuizen (Gauteng), David Goosen (Gauteng), Andrew Wren (PE)

MX3: Richard van der Westhuizen (Gauteng), Ian Topliss (Gauteng), Rod Bergstrom (KZN), Craig Kruger (PE)

Ladies (on various bike sizes): Toni Jardine (Gauteng), Brittany Cuthbert (Gauteng), Leah Heygate (Zambia), Nanda Clowes (Gauteng)