Jeffreys Bay Surfers Advance at WSL Junior Championships in Portugal

Jeffreys Bay locals  Dylan Lightfoot and Matt McGillivray advanced directly to Round 3 of the Ericeira WSL Junior Championships by winning their respective Round 1 heats on the opening two days of the event which determines the men’s and women’s world junior (20-and-under) champions.

Competing in unruly 1.5 metre waves at the backup venue of Praia dos Pescadores due to huge, stormy surf and adverse winds at the main site of Ribeira D’Ilhas, Lightfoot defeated Costa Rican standout Noe Mar McGonagle and fellow South African Jody Maree (Kalk Bay) in the first heat of the day on Tuesday.

McGillivray posted a pair of high seven point rides in the day’s last heat to dispatch Victor Bernardo (BRA) and Imaikalani Devault (HAW) to the cutthroat Round 2 elimination heats.

“The waves have been extremely big since we have arrived, waves have been on average around 15-20 foot. So that has made the main break where they usually run the contest unsurfable,” said Dylan Lightfoot after his round one heat.

“The contest organisers moved the event to a sheltered harbour where the swell is way more controllable in the 3 foot range.

The waves at the harbour are extremely tricky as their is a lot of refraction of the swells off the steep cliffs and harbour wall in the sheltered bay, which causes a lot of waves coming in to be bumpy, it is very important to choose your waves carefully.

The wave is a little left very similar to secrets in J Bay. The weather has also been freezing, howling winds and strong rainfall on a daily basis,” added Lightfoot.

The balance of the South African contingent all placed second or third in their opening encounters and will contest Round 2 heats.

Visit Core Surf & Skate for awesome New Year deals.
Visit Core Surf & Skate for awesome New Year deals.


Heat 1: Joshua Moniz (HAW) 13.40, Gatien Delahaye (GLP) 10.33, Charly Quivront (FRA) 7.70

Heat 2: Timothee Bisso (GLP) 11.00, Reo Inaba (JPN) 10.17, Harry Bryant (AUS) 7.07

Heat 3: Natxo Gonzalez (EUK) 13.50, Nelson Cloarec (FRA) 10.40, Nomme Mignot (FRA) 7.83

Article continues below...

Heat 4: Mateia Hiquily (PYF) 16.37, Benji Brand (HAW) 14.00, Momoto Tsuzuki (JPN) 11.04

Heat 5: Dylan Lightfoot (ZAF) 10.87, Noe Mar McGonagle (CRI) 10.50, Jordan Maree (ZAF) 8.83

Heat 6: Hiroto Ohhara (JPN) 14.17, Shane Sykes (ZAF) 8.50, Parker Coffin (USA) 5.40

Heat 7: Soli Bailey (AUS) 16.10, Griffin Colapinto (USA) 12.30, Adin Masencamp (ZAF) 5.46

Heat 8: Leonardo Fioravanti (ITA) 15.83, Deivid Silva (BRA) 10.34, Yuji Mori (JPN) 10.23

Heat 9: Tomas Fernandes (PRT) 14.23, Takumi Yasui (JPN) 13.07, Juninho Urcia (PER) 10.36

Heat 10: Kanoa Igarashi (USA) 14.16, Bevan Willis (ZAF) 13.70, Mihimana Braye (PYF) 9.53

Heat 11: Jacob Willcox (AUS) 16.50, Lucas Silveira (BRA) 16.04, Kan Watanabe (JPN) 13.93

Heat 12: Hiroto Arai (JPN) 14.13, Luan Wood (BRA) 14.00, Alonso Correa (PER) 10.73

Heat 13: Matthew McGillivray (ZAF) 15.60, Victor Bernardo (BRA) 12.10, Imaikalani Devault (HAW) 9.86


Related Posts