Pipeline set to fire for WSL title showdown

The 2015 World Surf League (WSL) Championship Tour Title Race has come down to the final event of the year, the Billabong Pipe Masters in Memory of Andy Irons, held from December 8 – 20, 2015.

With six men currently in the hunt, WSL No.1 Mick Fanning (AUS), No.2 Filipe Toledo (BRA), No.3 Adriano De Souza (BRA), No.4 reigning WSL Champion Gabriel Medina (BRA), No.5 Owen Wright (AUS) and defending Pipe Masters winner No.6 Julian Wilson (AUS), all have a shot at this year’s world surfing crown.

Fanning is coming into Pipeline with significant momentum after winning the Vans World Cup of Surfing in substantial conditions at Sunset Beach. Already with three World Titles to his name, Fanning is looking to achieve a historical moment in his career with another WSL Title.

surf world surf league
Mick Fanning sitting deep. Photo: WSL

“It’s been an up and down sort of year,” Fanning said. “I feel like in France I was just hanging on and now I just want to go and throw everything at it. It’s no use playing tactics anymore, it’s just go out and do your job. I want to do my best and to match Mark Richards with four titles would be a dream come true.”

Clinching the No.1 spot at Margaret River and holding onto the Jeep Leader yellow jersey until Trestles when he fell behind to Fanning, Adriano De Souza (BRA) has had one of his best performances on the Dream Tour this season. However, the Brazilian will need a result at Pipeline if he is to clinch his first World Title.

Article continues below...

 Defending Billabong Pipe Master champion and Vans Triple Crown winner, Julian Wilson (AUS) is currently sitting at No.7 with a mathematical chance to claim his first-ever World Title.

Core Surf

Beginning his year with a Runner-Up at the Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast and following it up with Runner-Up finishes at Fiji Pro and Jeffreys Bay later in the year, Wilson has turned in a much better result sheet than 2014.

Fredrick Patacchia (HAW) and Matt Banting (AUS) have withdrawn from the event. They’ve been replaced by former Pipe Master Bruce Irons (HAW) and current Vans Triple Crown ratings’ leader Wade Carmichael (AUS) in the main event.

Related Posts