JBay fires on opening day of SA Junior Surf Champs

South Africa’s top young surfers demonstrated that the future of competitive surfing is in good hands by producing stellar performances in the perfect waves at the Lower Point in Jeffreys Bay on the opening day of the Billabong SA Junior Champs.

Adin Masencamp at Point. Photo: AVG
Adin Masencamp at Point. Photo: AVG

The Under 17 boy’s division got the country’s premier junior event underway in clean offshore conditions. Straight up Bevan Willis, the top seed in the eThekweni district team, laid down a marker with powerful manoeuvres that saw him win his heat and advance directly to Round 3 along with runner-up David Burrows (Cape Winelands).

The U15 boy’s division was next up and occasional rain did nothing to dampen the spirits of the excited youngsters. Calvin Goor, Saxton Randall, Jaime Irvine and Karl Steen (all from eThekweni) were all over the pristine waves, winning their heats convincingly.

Jeffreys Bay local Angelo Faulkner and Sebastian Williams, both members of the host Nelson Mandela Bay team, showed their command of the Lower Point break while Max Elkington (Cape Town), competing in the final heat of the division, was arguably the outstanding U15 performer of the opening day.

Core Surf

Article continues below...

The U17 girls then took to the waves that continued to peel down the rocky point. Chrystal Hulett’s carving manoeuvres earned high points from the judges and she and her Nelson Mandela Bay teammate Kia Fenton both posted heat wins.

The Billabong SA Junior Champs runs until Sunday when the winners in the U17, U15 and U13 boy’s and girl’s divisions will be crowned the 2015 SA Junior Champions.

The district team accumulating the highest point tally across all divisions will be awarded the highly prized Freedom Cup and the winners of the U17 and U15 divisions will be awarded national team blazers.

Related Posts