SA Junior Surf Champs to be held in Jeffreys Bay

The Billabong SA Junior Surfing Championship is set to take place at the Lower Point in Jeffreys Bay from 30 September to 4 October.

Point is the real deal. Photo: Kolesky/Hurley
Point is the real deal. Photo: Kolesky/Hurley

The time frame for this event – late September into early October – is historically a good time for surf in JBay, and The Lower Point is sure to deliver some great waves and top-class action

The SA Champs is an intense team event, as well as a quest for the individual surfers’ personal honour and glory in being a South African Champion.

This year will see the team event format changed from a Provincial Contest to a District Challenge.

The competing teams this year will represent Cape Town, Cape Winelands, Eden, Nelson Mandela Bay, Buffalo City, Ugu, eThekweni, uThungulu and the Development Academy team, with eThekweni the defending champs.

Apart from the District Challenge, there will be a number of mini-events and specialty events:

The Billabong Bad Billy’s Tag Team Paddle Battle. This is a 5-man inter-district tag team paddle battle, with the winning team getting R5K for their district.

Article continues below...

The BOS Highest Heat Score Award. This goes to the surfer who gets the highest heat score of the event. It’s open to all age divisions across all rounds of competition, with the winner getting a custom designed BOS surf board, signed by Twiggy Baker.

Core Surf

The VonZipper Airshow. The best aerial in the airshow wins R2K plus a VZ Hamper.

The DaKine Most Progressive Maneuver Award. This specialty event is open to all age divisions across all rounds of competition and is for the most radical maneuver of the event –The winner gets a R5K DaKine product hamper.

Skull Candy are sponsoring the Stay Loud Team Spirit Award of R2,5K for the team with the best team spirit.

The Zigzag Blowing Up Award. This award goes to the most impressive surfer of the event, who will win R2K cash and a Zigzag subscription.

Related Posts