Watch the Boks play Japan at E-Street Cafe

The Springboks will want to get their Rugby World Cup campaign off to an emphatic start when they take on Japan in Brighton this evening.

webb ellis cup

Nothing less than a good win will be expected from Bok fans at the tournament and those watching at home.

The Springboks and Japan have never met on the rugby field but the Boks should have enough fire power to secure a bonus point win.

Of further interest is just how players like Zane Kirchner and Lood de Jager will grab their opportunity to start for the Boks.

It must be a strange feeling for Willie le Roux to be watching the Springboks play from a seat in the grand stand, and if Kirchner plays a blinder, coach Heneke Meyer may well reward the former Bulls player with more game time.

Although Eben Etzebeth is out with an injury, the game against Japan gives Lood de Jager a platform to stake his claim for a starting slot, come quarter final time.

Pat Lambie will want to cement his no 10 position while it is uncertain how the in form centre Damian De Allande will fit into Meyer’s plans going forward.

Fourie Du Preez will probably be eased back into the scrumhalf position with some game time in the second half, while the Bone Collector, Willem Alberts must be amped up to use the smaller Japanese players as tackle bags during his come back from injury game.

Article continues below...

Even with the wily Eddie Jones coaching the Japanese, the Boks are expected to cruise to victory.

We watch Rugby
We watch Rugby

You can catch the game at E-Street Café with kick off at 5:45 pm.

There will be a guess the score competition with plenty of prizes on offer at E-Street.

Tables can be booked by phoning 042 293 0095.

E-Street is predicting a good win by the Boks by between 40 – 50 points.

Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Lwazi Mvovo, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Jean de Villiers (c), 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Pat Lambie, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Schalk Burger, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Lood de Jager, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Coenie Oosthuizen, 19 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 20 Siya Kolisi, 21 Fourie du Preez, 22 Handré Pollard, 23 JP Pietersen.

Japan – 15 Ayumu Goromaru, 14 Akihito Yamada, 13 Male Sau, 12 Craig Wing, 11 Kotaro Matsushima, 10 Kosei Ono, 9 Fumiaki Tanaka, 8 Hendrik Tui, 7 Michael Broadhurst, 6 Michael Leitch, 5 Hitoshi Ono, 4 Luke Thompson, 3 Kensuke Hatakeyama, 2 Shota Horie, 1 Masataka Mikami.
​Subs: 16 Takeshi Kazu, 17 Keita Inagaki, 18 Hiroshi Yamashita, 19 Shinya Makabe, 20 Amanaki Mafi, 21 Atsushi Hiwasa, 22 Harumichi Tatekawa, 23 Karne Hesketh.

Referee: Jérôme Garcès (France)
Assistant referees: JP Doyle (England), Federico Anselmi (Argentina)
TMO: Graham Hughes (England)

Related Posts