Flores beats Medina to win Billabing Pro Tahiti

Jeremy Flores has won the Billabong Pro Tahiti against reigning WSL Champion Gabriel Medina.

Flores charging to the final. Photo: WSL/Steve Robertson
Flores charging to the final. Photo: WSL/Steve Robertson

The final was held in six foot surf at Teahupo’o. Stop No. 7 of 11 on the 2015 Samsung Galaxy WSL Championship Tour (CT) has been treated to incredible performances by the world’s best surfers, culminating today with Flores’ win.

Flores claimed the second CT victory of his career to jump up five places on the Jeep Leaderboard to 7th.

One of the standout performers of the event, Flores defeated some of the world’s best surfers – Medina, C.J. Hobgood, Kelly Slater and Wiggolly Dantas – before claiming victory today.

“Gabriel Medina is one really tactical guy so I thought I’m going to play his game,” said Flores. “He’s really aggressive in the water so I thought I’m going to be even more aggressive.

Hats off to him, he’s surfed amazing all event and that was definitely one of the hardest heats.”

Gabriel Medina. Photo: WSL
Gabriel Medina. Photo: WSL

The win backs up a Semi final berth for Flores at the Fiji Pro and marks an end to a disappointing few years on the CT with his best result of the year and his first event win since the Billabong Pipe Masters in 2010.

The result was made even more remarkable because Flores came into the event following a serious head injury suffered during a free surf that forced him to miss the JBay Open and wear a helmet throughout competition in Tahiti.

Watch a video highlights of the Billabong Pro Tahiti here

Core Surf

Article continues below...

Billabong Pro Tahiti Final Results:

1: Jeremy Flores (FRA) – 16.87
2: Gabriel Medina (BRA) – 13.20

Semifinal Results:

SF 1: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 16.63 def. Owen Wright (AUS) 8.70
SF 2: Jeremy Flores (FRA) 15.86 def. C.J. Hobgood (USA) 8.93

Quarterfinal Results:

QF 1: Owen Wright (AUS) 16.93 def. Italo Ferreira (BRA) 15.94
QF 2: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 15.64 def. Kai Otton (AUS) 11.00
QF 3: C.J. Hobgood (USA) 12.90 def. Josh Kerr (AUS) 11.16
QF 4: Jeremy Flores (FRA) 16.83 def. Kelly Slater (USA) 15.66

2015 WSL Jeep Leaderboard Top 5 (after Billabong Pro Tahiti):

1: Adriano de Souza (BRA) 34,950 pts
2: Mick Fanning (AUS) 34,700 pts
3: Owen Wright (AUS) 34,400 pts
4: Julian Wilson (AUS) 33,200 pts
4: Filipe Toledo (FRA) 33,200 pts

Related Posts