Owen Wright wins the Fiji Pro

Owen Wright (AUS) has won the Fiji Pro in historic fashion, claiming his second perfect 20 of the event in the Final bout against compatriot Julian Wilson held in pumping eight – ten foot barrels.

Owen Wright on his way to victory at the Fiji Pro. Photo: WSL/Kirsten
Owen Wright on his way to victory at the Fiji Pro. Photo: WSL/Kirsten

Stop No. 5 of 11 on the 2015 Samsung Galaxy WSL Championship Tour (CT), the Fiji Pro, has been treated to an abundance of swell and incredible performances by the world’s best surfers, culminating today with Wright’s unparalleled mastery of Cloudbreak.

“I can’t believe it, to finish with a couple of 10’s is a dream come true,” said Wright. “I’ve been doing a lot of work behind the scenes and watching the top guys closely and it’s definitely paid off.

Gabriel Medina has been a huge inspiration for me, especially watching him at this event last year and what he’s done.”

Wright was the form surfer of the event after a series of incredible performances and huge scores, including a flawless Round 5 heat where he posted his first perfect heat total (only the then-seventh in sport’s history).

The Australian made history today by delivering another Perfect 20 in the Final, the sport’s eighth ever perfect heat total, as the first surfer to achieve this incredible feat twice in one event.

The next stop on the 2015 Samsung Galaxy WSL Championship Tour will be the JBay Open from July 8 – 19, 2015.

Highlights from the Fiji Pro will be available via WorldSurfLeague.com.

jbay winterfest logo 2015


Fiji Pro Final Results:

1: Owen Wright (AUS) 20.00

2: Julian Wilson (AUS) 7.84


Fiji Pro Semifinal Results:

Article continues below...

SF 1: Julian Wilson (AUS) 11.50 def. Taj Burrow (AUS) 8.66

SF 2: Owen Wright (AUS) 16.93 def. Jeremy Flores (FRA) 16.57


Fiji Pro Quarterfinal Results:

QF 1: Julian Wilson (AUS) 17.36 def. Italo Ferreira (BRA) 17.00

QF 2: Taj Burrow (AUS) 13.37 def. Wiggolly Dantas (BRA) 7.40

QF 3: Owen Wright (AUS) 16.60 def. Joel Parkinson (AUS) 12.84

QF 4: Jeremy Flores (FRA) 16.83 def. Kai Otton (AUS) 12.90

2015 WSL Jeep Leaderboard Top 5 (after Fiji Pro):

1.         Adriano de Souza (BRA) 28,000 pts

2.         Filipe Toledo (BRA) 27,450 pts

3.         Owen Wright (AUS) 26,250 pts

4.         Mick Fanning (AUS) 24,950 pts

5.         Julian Wilson (AUS) 23,450 pts

Related Posts