24 South Africans to surf in JBU Supertrial

The JBU Surf Club has announced that the 2015 edition of the JBU Supertrial presented by RVCA will take place from 1 – 12 June 2015.

The winner will receive a wildcard entry into Round One of the JBay Open World Surf League event.

jbu supertrial

The JBay Open forms part of the annual JBay Winterfest and is event six out of eleven events on the World Surf League (WSL) Men’s Samsung Galaxy Championship Tour and will take place from 08 – 19 July 2015.

The tournament will have a prize pool of US$525,000 (R6,360,435).

This year the JBU Supertrial presented by RVCA will consist of 24 surfers. As in the past, there will be a strict selection process.

Surfers who wish to surf in the event will need to physically enter, and adhere to any specific entry requirements. The details of the entry methods and requirements will be announced shortly, so watch this space.

Article continues below...
Dylan Lightfoot, winner of the 2014 JBU Supertrial. Photo: CLive Wright
Dylan Lightfoot, winner of the 2014 JBU Supertrial. Photo: CLive Wright

There will quite simply be 24 of the best surfers in South Africa in the event, and this will include guys who know how to surf Supers, and surfers who have a proven competitive track record.

Last year the event was won by local surfer Dylan Lightfoot, who went on to surf against Kelly Slater in round 1 and Gabriel Medina in round 2 of the JBay Open, gaining valuable World Tour experience in the process.

The event is a JBU Surf Club event, and club members will have final say in the list of invited surfers.

“The JBU Surf Club are excited about the return of this event,” said JBU chairman Arthur Joubert.

“It’s also great to be working with RVCA again, and we’re looking forward to this event, the surf season and this year’s JBay Winterfest.”

Core Surf

Related Posts