Seal Point Boardriders Surf Club win SA Interclub Champs

The Seal Point Boardriders Surf Club, who were coached by the legendary duo of Graham Hynes and Ant Brodowicz celebrated their first appearance in a National Interclub tournament with a victory when they posted 168.1 points in the final of the 2015 Billabong SA Interclub Championships at Kitchen Windows in Jeffreys Bay on Sunday.

Seal Point Boardriders celebrate their victory
Seal Point Boardriders celebrate their victory

A disappointed CYOH Surf Club of Port Elizabeth scored 150,2 point to take second spot while 2013 champions, the JBay Boardriders posted 133,0 points to finish third.

The defending champions, JBU Surf Club had to settle for fourth place after scoring 109,9 points in the final.

The defeated semi finalists were the Natural Energy Surf Club and the UCT Surf Club. A record fifteen teams representing thirteen clubs participated in the third annual National Interclub Surfing Championships.

Photo: Kody McGregor
Photo: Kody McGregor

Tough weather and strong winds made the first day of competition difficult and event officials made the decision to call a halt to competition on Day One after the first four heats and although the weather improved on Day Two, strong winds made 2 – 3 foot surf difficult to handle throughout the day.

Article continues below...

At the Award ceremony held on the beach at Kitchen Windows, Surfing South Africa Vice President Johnny Bakker presented the South African Interclub Trophy and gold, silver, bronze and copper medals to the team members of the teams that reached the finals.

Core Surf

The event was hosted by the JBU Surf Club, who exercised their right to host the tournament in Jeffreys Bay. Seal Point Boardriders now have the right to chose a venue for next year’s tournament which will be held on February 13th & 14th.

The full results of the tournament and pictures are available on www.surfingsouthafrica.co.za