Jordy Smith wins at Trestles

South African surfer Jordy Smith won his first World Championship Tour title of the year when he won the Hurley Pro at Trestles yesterday.

Jordy Smith carving to victory at the Hurley Pro. Photo: ASP
Jordy Smith carving to victory at the Hurley Pro. Photo: ASP

Jordy beat John John Florence in a very tight final.
Smith got off to a flying start with a wave that earned him a score of 9.33.
However, Florence hit right back with a wave that scored 8.60.
After getting a second high scoring ride of 7.27, Florence edged into the lead, but Jordy kept his composure and got a back up wave worth 7.17 to win the final and claim his first victory of the World Championship tour since the 2013 Billabong Rio Pro title in May last year.
Core Surf
“I want to send a huge shout out to all my boys, everyone in South Africa. They have been giving me every bit of support this whole week.
So now I am going to go celebrate with my whole family, Trav, Dooma, all the boys, and my beautiful wife,” said Smith after his epic victory.
Hurley Pro Final Results:
1: Jordy Smith (ZAF) 16.50
2: John John Florence (HAW) 15.87
Swatch Women’s Pro Trestles Final Results:
1: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) 19.50
2: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS) 14.03
Hurley Pro Semifinal Results:
SF 1: Jordy Smith (ZAF) 14.10 def. Adrian Buchan (AUS) 13.30
SF 2: John John Florence (HAW) 15.10 def. Kelly Slater (USA) 14.10
Swatch Women’s Pro Trestles Semifinal Results:
SF 1: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) 13.84 def. Coco Ho (HAW) 13.03
SF 2: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS) 17.04 def. Johanne Defay (FRA) 14.66
Hurley Pro at Trestles Quarterfinal Results:
QF 1: Jordy Smith (ZAF) 15.87 def. Mick Fanning (AUS) 13.53
QF 2: Adrian Buchan (AUS) 17.43 def. Gabriel Medina (BRA) 14.77
QF 3: John John Florence (HAW) 17.37 def. Adriano De Souza (BRA) 9.26
QF 4: Kelly Slater (USA) 15.87 def. Joel Parkinson (AUS) 11.33
Swatch Women’s Pro Trestles Quarterfinal Results:
QF 1: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) 15.17 def. Laura Enever (AUS) 12.23
QF 2: Coco Ho (HAW) 15.67 def. Lakey Peterson (USA) 15.00
QF 3: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS) 16.44 def. Bianca Buitendag (ZAF) 10.33
QF 4: Johanne Defay (FRA) 16.20 def. Tyler Wright (AUS) 15.13

Article continues below...

Related Posts