The Boks must win against Argentina

Juan Smith
Juan Smith
If the recent past is anything to go by, South Africa will have to pass a stern examination in order to seal victory in Argentina today.
Since their Rugby Championship arrival, the Pumas have hosted the Springboks twice, with a 16-16 draw and narrow 22-17 loss being the results.
On both occasions South Africa have entered confident and both times they have gone home disappointed despite being undefeated.
Let’s be frank, the rain was a leveller at Loftus Versfeld but great teams adapt to such conditions and judging from their performance, South Africa did not give their expectant public great confidence in wet weather that they will encounter during 2015 Rugby World Cup in England.
Flanker Juan Smith was recalled to the Boks for one of the comeback stories of all time.
His return after having medical experts advise him to stop playing only a few years ago has since seen him fight his way back and go on to win the Heineken Cup and Top 14 titles three months ago in France.
The Bok enforcer, Eben Etzebeth will also start for the men in Green and Gold today, following an injury in 2013. His brute strength and physicality will be needed to front up to the Argentines today.
Eben Etzebeth makes a welcome return to the Boks
Eben Etzebeth makes a welcome return to the Boks

Previous results:
2014: South Africa won 13-6 in Pretoria
2013: South Africa won 22-17 in Mendoza
2013: South Africa won 73-13 in Soweto
2012: Drew 16-16 in Mendoza
2012: South Africa won 27-6 in Cape Town
2008: South Africa won 63-9 in Johannesburg
2007: South Africa won 37-13 in Paris (RWC)
2005: South Africa won 34-23 in Buenos Aires
2004: South Africa won 39-7 in Buenos Aires
2003: South Africa won 26-25 in Port Elizabeth
2002: South Africa won 49-29 in Springs
2000: South Africa won 37-33 in Buenos Aires
1996: South Africa won 44-21 in Buenos Aires
1996: South Africa won 46-15 in Buenos Aires
isabeau floss best
The teams:
Argentina: 15 Joaquín Tuculet, 14 Lucas González Amorosino, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 12 Juan Martín Hernández, 11 Manuel Montero, 10 Nicolás Sánchez, 9 Martín Landajo, 8 Juan Manuel Leguizamón, 7 Juan Martín Fernández Lobbe, 6 Pablo Matera, 5 Tomás Lavanini, 4 Mariano Galarza, 3 Ramiro Herrera, 2 Agustín Creevy (c), 1 Marcos Ayerza.
Replacements: 16 Matías Cortese, 17 Bruno Postiglioni, 18 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 19 Matías Alemanno, 20 Leonardo Senatore, 21 Tomás Cubelli, 22 Jerónimo de la Fuente, 23 Horacio Agulla.
South Africa: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Damian de Allende, 12 Jean de Villiers (c), 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Handrè Pollard, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Lood de Jager, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Gurthrö Steenkamp.
Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Tendai Mtawarira, 18 Frans Malherbe, 19 Bakkies Botha, 20 Marcell Coetzee, 21 Francois Hougaard, 22 Morné Steyn, 23 Lwazi Mvovo.

Article continues below...

Related Posts