Billabong Junior Series produces surf champions

The Billabong Junior Series presented by BOS will be holding their second event in the 2014 Series in Cape Town over three days from 8 – 10 August.

Jordy Smith came through the ranks. Photo: Stan Blumberg
Jordy Smith came through the ranks. Photo: Stan Blumberg

This event is the second in the three event series, and is the 50th Billabong Junior Series contest to be held in South Africa.
The Billabong Junior Series has spawned such champions as Jordy Smith, Dale Staples, Dylan Lightfoot, Beyrick De Vries and Mikey February and has paid out over R1M in prize money in the series to date.
“The events are run off under ASP guidelines and offer these surfers a glimpse of what life would be like as a professional surfer. We are proud of our history in developing our junior surfers over the years, and are very proud that we have reached the milestone of 50 events in the junior series over the years,” said Billabong South Africa Marketing Manager Chad D’Arcy.
The divisions for Cape Town are:
U12 Boys – 1A PST rated.
U14 Boys and U14 Girls – 2A PST rated.
U16 Boys and U16 Girls – 2A PST rated.
U20 Boys and U20 Girls – 1* ASP Pro Junior rated.
Core Surf
The contest organisers have decided that there will be no U18 division, and all U18′s are invited to enter the U20 Pro Junior division instead.
The U20 Pro Junior division is the premier dvision in this series and it is the goal of the series to encourage surfers to compete at the very best of their abilities, and thus enter the Pro Junior division.
Surfers from the U16 division are invited to enter the Pro Junior division as well.
There is R30,000 prize money in total for the ASP Pro Junior division.

Article continues below...

Related Posts