Dylan wins the Wild Card at Supertubes

Dylan Lightfoot has won the JBU Supertrial, presented by RVCA, which was held in 4- 6 foot waves at Supertubes in Jeffreys Bay yesterday.

Dylan Lightfoot. Photo: Clive Wright
Dylan Lightfoot. Photo: Clive Wright

Lightfoot, a Jeffreys Bay local who surfs Supertubes regularly, won a tight final with Cape Town surfer Mikey February coming a close second, much to the delight of the crowds who packed the beach and boardwalks.

Durban surfer Slade Prestwich came third with another JBay local surfer Matt McGillivray finishing in fourth position.

“I am so stoked; this is a dream come true,” said Lightfoot after the event. “I have wanted to surf in the World Championship Tour (WCT) event in Jeffreys Bay since I was a kid and winning the JBU Supertrial has given me that opportunity.”

Supertubes delivered the goods since the first heat entered the water, with Warren Dean claiming the Barrel Of The Day early in the morning and winning a Firewire Surfboard for his efforts.

Dylan Lightfoot carving to victory at Supertubes. Photo: Clive Wright
Dylan Lightfoot carving to victory at Supertubes. Photo: Clive Wright

Slade Prestwich won the award of an Arbor Skateboard for the best carve of the contest, with Dylan Lightfoot winning a Nixon watch, the Capital Automatic, valued at R10,000, and the coveted Wild card entry into the JBay Open of Surfing, an ASP World Championship Tour event, that will be held in Jeffreys Bay from 10 – 20 July.

The JBay Open forms part of the JBay Winterfest, a multi sport Festival that includes events like mountain biking, skating, cold water swimming and trial running.

Article continues below...

“We are proud to be involved with the JBU Supertrial and it’s great that a local surfer has won the wild card into the WCT event to be held in July at Supertubes,” said Arno Lane from event sponsor RVCA.

JBay WinterFest

The JBU Supertrial was sanctioned by Surfing South Africa and organised by the JBU Surf Club, who are also organising the JBay Open, an ASP WCT event that will see the top surfers in the world descend upon Jeffreys Bay in their quest to be crowned the world champion.

“The JBU is stoked that once again JBay will host an ASP WCT event and that a local surfer, Dylan Lightfoot, will be surfing in the main event against guys like Kelly Slater, Mick Fanning and Jordy Smith,” said Koffie Jacobs from the JBU.

Final results:
1. Dylan Lightfoot (JBay)
2. Mikey February (CT)
3. Slade Prestwich (DBN)
4. Matt McGillivray (JBay)

Related Posts