Second Set Of Invitees Announced For The JBU Super Trial

The JBU Surf Club has announced the next four invited surfers in the JBU Super Trial, and they are Sean Holmes, Warren Dean, Dylan Lightfoot and Slade Prestwich.

Dylan Lightfoot
Dylan Lightfoot

The JBU Super Trial has a waiting period for the month of June, and will produce one wild card into the ASP JBay Open World Tour event, set to take place from10-21 July. The ASP JBay Open World Tour event forms part of the JBay Winterfest.

The four invited surfers are a mix of experience and youth, with Sean Holmes and Warren Dean the old school Supers rippers, and Dylan and Slade representing the new school chargers.

Sean Holmes is one of the perennial stand-outs at Supertubes, and has a long and extremely illustrious history at the surf spot. He has deposed of world champions like Kelly Slater and the late Andy Irons year after year, and shows no sign of slowing down.

With his nickname of ‘The Nemesis,’ Holmesy will be making any World Tour surfer nervous should he get the wild card into the main event. With the nuances of Supers in his DNA, Sean surfs with extreme confidence at Supers, and has an uncanny ability in the fabled Supers barrel.

Article continues below...

JBay WinterFest

Local ripper Dylan Lightfoot is delighted with his invite. “Ever since I was a grom frothing on the beach at every Billabong Pro trying to get the Pro surfers autographs, its been my dream to surf the main event! I will do my best to make my home town  proud!” said Lightfoot.

This is the first time that the ASP World Tour is returning to JBay since 2011 and the event has a prize pool of US$500,000 (R5,250,000). It forms part of the revamped 2014 World Tour, and there is much excitement about the event returning to JBay.

Trailists so far: Greg Emslie, Joshe Faulkner, Shaun Joubert, RVCA Junior Challenge wildcard, Sean Holmes, Dylan Lightfoot, Warren Dean, Slade Prestwich.

Related Posts