Kai wins SA Champs title in JBay

Kai Woolf crowned ‘Surfer of the Contest’ at Hurley SA Junior Champs in Jeffreys Bay.

Kai Woolf carving to victory. Photo: AVG/Hurley
Kai Woolf carving to victory. Photo: AVG/Hurley

Western Province claimed the coveted Freedom Cup for the provincial team accumulating the highest points at the 2013 Hurley SA Junior Champs which was completed in idyllic one to 1.5 metre waves at Lower Point yesterday.

Eastern Province finished in second position.

JBay local Kai Woolf was named as the Hurley Surfer of the Contest.

The 11 year-old Jeffreys Bay local was in outstanding form throughout the event and captured the SA U13 Girls title for the second time.

After the giant surf and strong winds that produced legendary performances on Saturday, the final day of the Hurley SA Junior Champs dawned sunny and still with the classic waves that Jeffreys Bay is renowned for peeling down the rocky point, setting the scene for a historic finale to an event that will be remembered forever.

The remaining heats of the U17, U15 and U13 Girls divisions were run before the U13 Girls final took the pulsing overhead waves with Kai Woolf just holding off the challenge of 2012 champion Sophie Bell (KZNC) to reclaim the title she won as nine year-old in Durban in 2011.

Angelo Faulkner made it two titles in a row for EP when he produced a determined performance in his home surf to narrowly outscore Koby Oberholzer (KZNC) by 14.75 points to 14.15 and clinch the SA U13 Boys crown.

Point was the real deal. Photo: Kolesky/Hurley
Point was the real deal. Photo: Kolesky/Hurley

The 2013 SA U15 Girls champion is Ruth Armstrong (WP) who triumphed in a see-saw battle where just 0.50 of a point separated the winner from runner-up Cana Foster (KZNC) and 2012 champion Crystal Hulett (EP) in third place.

Supergrom Ethan Fletcher surfed an incredible U15 Boys final, posting a perfect 10 point ride and backing that up with an excellent 8.50 to mount the victory dias ahead of WP teammates Jordy Maree and Jake Elkington.

The U17 Girls title went to Teal Hogg (KZNC) who delivered a come from behind victory with a great ride in the dying seconds to overtake Robyn van der Merwe (EP) by just 0.35 of a point.

Matt McGillivray sequence by Stan Blumberg
Matt McGillivray sequence by Stan Blumberg

Matt McGillivray (EP), last year’s U15 Boys champ and Surfer of the Contest, was the standout performer in the U17 Boys division this year and duly clinched the title when he finished ahead of Dylan Wichmann (WP), Steff Burrows (Boland) and Max Armstrong (WP).

true hotspot

2013 Hurley SA Junior Champs (Lower Point, Jeffreys Bay)


Freedom Cup (Provincial team points)

1. WESTERN PROVINCE 29 670 points


3. KZN CENTRAL 26 290

4. BOLAND 21 300

5. BORDER 19 010

6. SOUTHERN KZN 17 931


8. ZULULAND 13 546


Boys U17

1. Matt McGillivray (EP)

2. Dylan Wichmann (WP)

Article continues below...

3. Steff Burrows (BOL)

4. Max Armstrong (WP)

Girls U17

1. Teal Hogg (KZNC)

2. Robyn VD Merwe (EP)

3. Inge McLaren (BOR)

4. Chanelle Botha (SKZN)

Boys U15

1. Ethan Fletcher (WP)

2. Jordy Maree (WP)

3. Jake Elkington (WP)

4. Tristan Lev (BOL)

Girls U15

1. Ruth Armstrong (WP)

2. Cana Foster (KZNC)

3. Crystal Hulett (EP)

4. Michelle Verreynne (SC)

Boys U13

1. Angelo Faulkner (EP)

2. Koby Oberholzer (KZNC)

3. Max Elkington (WP)

4. Karl Steen (KZNC)

Girls U13

1. Kai Woolf (EP)

2. Sophie Bell (KZNC)

3. Kirsty McGillivray (EP)

4. Olivia Izzard (KZNC)

Related Posts