Top Surfers to compete in JBay Open

The contest organisers of the Jeffreys Bay Open of Surfing have begun the challenging task of selecting invitees for the event which will take place from 9-13 July 2013.

Greg Emslie will be in action in JBay. Photo: ASP
Greg Emslie will be in action in JBay. Photo: ASP

With close to 200 surfers putting their hands up for possible inclusion into the event, there have been some easy decisions and some more difficult ones.

The main criteria for selection is that the surfer knows how to surf Supertubes and understands the complexities and the nuances of such a wave. A track record at Supers was therefore imperative.

Mark Occhilupo, who won the Country Feeling Surf Classic way back in 1984, will be taking part as will highly regarded free surfer Dave Rastovich.

Former WCT campaigner Greg Emslie from East London will once again grace the walls of Supertubes and he will be joined by up and coming JBay locals Dylan Lightfoot and Steven Sawyer. Dale Staples (St Francis Bay) will also be surfing as will older locals Craig Els and Warren Dean.

The contest organisers have whittled it down to 40 surfers. The 8 girls and alternates have been selected as well.

The rest of the men’s invitees will be announced in the next few days, as well as a list of alternates.

The JBay Open of Surfing has replaced the Billabong Pro, a WCT event which last took place in 2011 in Jeffreys Bay. The Open been organised by the JBU Surf Club and has received the full support of the local surf community.

The 40 names, in no particular order.

1. Adin Jeenes

2. Craig Els

3. Brandon Jackson

4. Casey Grant

5. Chad Du Toit

6. Chris Leppan

7. Dale Staples

8. Dan Redman

9. Davey Brand

10. Devyn Mattheys

11. Dylan Lightfoot

12. Frankie Oberholzer

13. Greg Emslie

14. Jason Ribbink

15. Josh Redman

16. Simon Nicholson

17. Klee Strachan

18. Kelvin Zehmke

19. Allan Johns

20. Llewellyn Whittaker

21. Matt Bromley

22. Michael February

23. Dave Rastovich

24. Mark Occhilupo

25. Paul Canning

26. Remi Peterson

Article continues below...

27. Ricky Basnett

28. Ryan Payne

29. Sean Holmes

30. Shane Thorne

31. Gavin Roberts

32. Shaun Joubert

33. Shaun Payne

34. Simon Fish

35. Slade Prestwich

36. Steven Sawyer

37. Warren Dean

38. Warren Tuck

39. Warwick Wright

40. Wayne Monk

The girls, in no particular order.


Emma Smith

Faye Zoetmulder

Gina Smith

Heidi Palmboom

Nikita Robb

Sarah Baum

Taryn Chudleigh

Tanika Hoffman

Cold water classic logo web


Crystal Hulett

Eva Barnhard

Holly Armstrong

Jessica Wilson

Krystal Tavenor

Lesmeri Postma

Nicole Pallet

Tara Hossack

Teal Hogg

Related Posts