Dylan dominates in Durban surf

JBay local Dylan Lightfoot was the star performer at the Billabong Junior in Durban on the weekend, winning every heat he contested and comfortably taking both the Under 20 and U18 boys’ titles.

Dylan Lightfoot BBG dbn

Competing in rippable one metre waves at New Pier, the 18 year who grew up surfing Jeffreys Bay, earned a wildcard into the U20 specialty event by winning the U18 final.

He went on to dominate his older competitors to pocket a total of R15 000 in prize-money and take the early lead in both the Billabong Junior Series and SSA Pro Surf Tour  U18 rankings.

Tim Baard, also from JBay came second in the U16 division which was won by Jordan Maree (Kalk Bay).

The most impressive performance came from diminutive Kai Woolf (Jeffreys Bay).who posted a perfect 10 point ride and followed that with a 9.40 for a heat total of 19.40 in the U14 girls’ final.

That not only clinched the title for Woolf but also earned her a custom engraved  Nixon watch for the highest heat total of the entire event, which she accepted with an impressive speech that belied her tender years.

The next stop on the Billabong Junior Series  will be held at Nahoon Beach in East London on 6 & 7 April before moving to Kommetjie in Cape Town in August and culminating at Seal Point in the Eastern Cape in September where the series champions in all divisions will be crowned.

Core Surf

Billabong Junior Series (Event #1 of 4)

New Pier, Durban


U20 Boys

1. Dylan Lightfoot (Jeffreys Bay) R10 000

2. Michael February (Kommetjie)

3. Mickey Venter (Durban)

4. Dane Staples (St Francis Bay)

U20 Girls

1. Heidi Palmboom (Bluff)  R10 000

2. Emma Smith (Jeffreys Bay)

3. Nicole Pallet (Durban)

4. Chanelle Botha (Warner Beach)

U18 Boys

1. Dylan Lightfoot (Jeffreys Bay)  R5 000

2. Max Armstrong (Scarborough)  R900

3. Ethan Pentz (Kalk Bay)  R600

4. Justin Sykes (Salt Rock)  R500

U18 Girls

1. Chanelle Botha (Warner Beach)  R5 000

2. Nicole Pallet (Durban)  R900

Article continues below...

3. Tahra Uren (Jeffreys Bay)  R600

4. Caryn McNicol (Scottburgh)  R500

U16 Boys

1. Jordan Maree (Kalk Bay)  R5 000

2. Tim Baard (Jeffreys Bay)  R900

3. Jerry van Wyk (Jeffreys Bay)  R600

4. Donovan Wichmann (Marina da Gama)  R500

U14 Boys

1. Koby Oberholzer (Durban)  R2 500

2. Adin Masencamp (Strand)  R450

3. Ethan Fletcher (Kommetjie)  R300

4. Rewaldo Abersalie (Jeffreys Bay)  R250

U14 Girls

1. Kai Woolf (Jeffreys Bay)  R2 500

2. Olivia Izzard (Durban)  R450

3. Sophie Bell (Durban)  R300

4. Kirsty McGillivray (Jeffreys Bay)  R250

U12 Boys

1. Max Elkington (Hout Bay)  R2 500

2. Saxton Randall (Durban)  R450

3. Tide Lee Ireland (Durban)  R300

4. Angelo Faulkner (Jeffreys Bay)  R250

VonZipper Flair Up Award – Best Aerial manoeuvre

Diran Zakarian (Melkbosstrand)  R10 000

DaKine Youthful Movement Award – Most progressive surfing

Shane Sykes (Salt Rock)  R10 000

Nixon Winner Takes All (WTA) – Highest heat total

Kai Woolf (Jeffreys Bay) – 19.40 (10.0 + 9.40) out of 20 – Custom engraved Nixon Watch

Related Posts