Southern Kings beat Franchise XV in disappointing clash

SouthernKingsLogoThe Southern Kings beat the Franchise XV team at Outeniqua Park in a disappointing clash, with the final tally at 29 – 13 with the half time score being 10 – 6.

Director of Rugby Alan Solomons said he was disappointed in the performance.

“In the first half the lineouts were appalling; we lost possession in about nine of the 11 lineouts.”

Solomons said the players had also given away too many penalties at the breakdown. “This meant we had no possession, which made it difficult to play,” he said.

Solomons said in the second half the lineouts had improved, but there were still too many penalties given away and the skill level had been poor, resulting in lost opportunities.

“We also received two yellow cards, which meant at one point we were down to 13 men on the field,” he said.

Solomons said although it had been a bad day at the office, the team would absorb the lessons for the game and move forward.

Article continues below...

Kings try scorers: Siyanda Grey (2), Sergeal Peterson (2) Tomas Leonardi. Conversions: Wesley Dunlop (2)

Franchise XV try scorers: Buran Parks. Conversions: Jeff Taljard. Penalties: Jeff Taljard (2)

isabeau floss best

Southern Kings
Elric van Vuuren, Marcello Sampson, Ronnie Cooke, Andries Strauss (Captain), Sergeal Petersen, George Whitehead, Shaun Venter, Jaco Engels, Virgil Lacombe, Ross Geldenhuys, Devin Oosthuizen (Vice Captain), David Bullbring, Daniel Adongo, Wimpie van der Walt, Jacques Engelbrecht.
Replacements: Siyanda Grey, Cornell du Preez , Mpho Mbiyozo, Rynier Bernardo, Tomas Leonardi, Kevin Buys, Bandise Maku, Lizo Gqoboko, Johan Herbst, Wesley Dunlop, Siviwe Soyizwapi, Hadleigh Parkes.

Franchise XV

Alshaun Bock, Charlie Ewerts, Kempie Rautenbach, Jeff Taljard, Ghafoer Luckan, Martin du Toit, Kerwin Appolus, Michael Vermaak, Lyndon Hartrnick, Dumisani Meslane, Hein Potgieter, Giant Mtyanda, Raoul Larson, Lyle Delo, Jean Rossouw.
Replacements: Wayne Khan, Grant Kemp, Grant le Roux, Buran Parks, Rudi Michaels, Lionel Cornelius, Wenstley Scott, Dean Hopp, Christo du Plessis, Clint Wagman, Werner Jacobs, Lyndon Rhoode.

Related Posts