18 swimmers qualify for World Short Course Champs

After four days of competition, the South African National Short Course event concluded with 18 swimmers posting World Championship Qualification times.

Olympian Roland Schoeman confirmed his 50m freestyle Qualification Time in the finals, finishing the race in 21.33 while Douglass Erasmus and Luke Pendock were second and third respectively.

Veteran Roland Schoeman has qualified for the World Champs

Later on in the evening, Schoeman claimed the bronze in the 50m breaststroke behind champion Cameron van der Burgh. Van der Burgh took the title in 26.58 followed by Giulio Zorzi (27.19) and Neil Versfeld in fourth with a time of 27.43. All four swimmers dipping under the required 27.78 Qualification time.

With his fourth Qualification time of the competition, Darian Townsend easily claimed the gold in the 200m individual medley over ten second ahead of the pack, ending in 1:55.61.

In the 1500m freestyle, Myles Brown raced to his first World Championship Qualification time when he won the race in 15:05.45 ahead of Chad Ho (15:36.08) and Dean Myhill (15:52.05), while Garth Tune was also celebrating his first Qualification time in the 50m backstroke, winning the event in 24.54.

Darren Murray was happy to take the top position in the 200m backstroke with yet another Qualification time of 1:55.86 ahead of Michael Meyer and Christopher Reid with the 200m butterfly title going to Jan van der Merwe in 2:01.19.

Jessica Pengelly and Kathryn Meaklim both finished with Qualification times in the 200m individual medley, touching the wall in 2:11.61 and 2:12.19 respectively. The bronze medal was won by Marlies Ross in 2:17.94.

Sharing the gold in the 100m butterfly, both Marne Erasmus and Mandy Loots touched the wall in a Qualification time of 59.55, while Jessica Ashley-Cooper confirmed her 50m backstroke qualification in a time of 28.08.

With her second gold of the night, Ashley-Cooper, Pengelly and Nathania van Niekerk made up the medal podium in the 200m backstroke in 2:10.68, 2:11.43 and 2:14.19 respectively.

Trudi Maree was in a close race for the 50m freestyle gold medal and won in a time of 25.37 ahead of Lehesta Kemp (25.60) and Peggy de Villiers (26.03), while Kelly Gunnell added another gold to her tally in the 100m breaststroke (1:10.36), edging out Erin Anderson and Tara Nicholas.

In the 200m freestyle, Rene Warnes walked away with the gold in a time of 2:01.05.

The final team to compete at the FINA World Short Course Championships to be held in Istanbul, Turkey from 12 – 16 December 2012 will be announced by Swimming SA.

Final FINA World Short Course Championships Qualification Times:

Chad le Clos – 200m freestyle, 50m butterfly (SF)

Darian Townsend – 200m freestyle, 100m individual medley, 100m freestyle (SF), 200m individual medley

Jessica Pengelly – 400m individual medley, 800m freestyle, 200m individual medley

Kathryn Meaklim – 200 and 400m individual medley

Article continues below...

Darren Murray – 100m backstroke, 50m backstroke (SF), 100m individual medley, 200m backstroke

Roland Schoeman – 50m butterfly, 100m individual medley, 50m breaststroke, 50m freestyle

Karin Prinsloo – 100m Backstroke (SF)

Jessica Ashley Cooper- 100m Backstroke (SF), 50m backstroke

Neil Versfeld – 100m breaststroke, 50m breaststroke

Leith Shankland – 100m individual medley

Marne Erasmus – 100m butterfly

Cameron van der Burgh – 50m breaststroke

Trudi Maree – 50m freestyle

Mandy Loots – 100m butterfly

Garth Tune – 50m backstroke

Myles Brown – 1500m freestyle

Michael Meyer – 200m individual medley (heats)

Giulio Zorzi – 50m breaststroke

*SF – Semi-Final

Related Posts