JBay surfer wins award as performer of the year

Travis Logie was crowned South African Surfer of the Year on at the 2012 SA Surfing Awards presented by Zigzag Surfing Magazine held at the Wave House in Gateway’s Theatre of Shopping.

Dylan Lightfoot won the performer of the year award

Jeffreys Bay surfers Dylan Lightfoot and Steven Sawyer also won awards with Dylan being honoured with the breakthrough performer of the year and Steven winning the u20 champion of the year.

“It has been an amazing year for me and I am really stoked with the award”, said Supertubes local Dylan Lightfoot, whose goal is to crack the World Championship Tour.

The surfer of the year award recognised Travis Logie for his phenomenal performance in the death defying waves of Teahupoo during last year’s Billabong Pro Tahiti event. Coming into the event as a last minute replacement, Logie’s dramatic semi final finish saw him bounce back from injury and overcome significant odds to ultimately re-qualify for the elite World Tour of surfing.

The annual awards evening, presented by Zigzag, honors the best of the best in South African surfing while paying tribute to the legends who have shaped the sport and culture on our shores. A highlight of the evening was the induction of a new legend into the SA surfing Hall of Fame. 1978 World Amateur Champion, Ant Brodowicz was inducted during the course of the evening.

Article continues below...
Steven Sawyer is the South African u20 surf champ. Photo: Cara Sawyer

The Moment of the Year award that went to Jordy Smith for his second consecutive Billabong Pro JBay victory, and the Agent of Change Award was won by the Isiqalo Foundation.


Pro Surf Tour U20 Boys Champ: Steven Sawyer
Pro Surf Tour Mens Champ: Greg Emslie
Pro Surf Tour U20 Girls Champ: Sarah Baum
Pro Surf Tour Womens Champ: Nikita Robb
ASP Africa Pro Junior Champ: Beyrick de Vries
ASP Africa Open Mens: Jordy Smith
ASP Africa Pro Junior Women: Bianca Buitendag
Breakthrough Performer of the Year: Dylan Lightfoot
Agent of Change: Isiqalo Foundation
Contribution to Surfing: Anne Wright
Photographer of the Year: Greg Ewing
Best use of Social Media: Brendon Gibbens
Pushing the Boundaries: Matt Bromley
Pushing the Boundaries: Grant Twiggy Baker
Moment of the Year: Jordy Smith
Surfer of the Year – Female: Sarah Baum
Surfer of the Year – Male: Travis Logie

Related Posts