Volcom Fiji Pro draw finalised

The Volcom Fiji Pro is days away from commencing and the world’s best surfers will be greeted by solid swell for the opening of the event window.

“We’ve got a ton of swell lining up for the first week of the Volcom Fiji Pro” Kevin Wallis, the Surfline forecaster said. “The event will get off to a quick start on Sunday the 3rd with a solid southwest swell at Cloudbreak along with favorable easterly wind. Wind will remain favorable for the first half of the following week as the swell tapers down. Long range charts point to a larger southwest swell for the 8th – 10th, if forecast models prove to be correct.”

Jordy Smith will be aiming at a good result in the Volcom Pro

Event No. 4 of 10 on the 2012 ASP World Championship Tour, the Volcom Fiji Pro will recommence this season’s race for the elite ASP World Title and the world’s best surfers are eager to take on the South Pacific perfection of Cloudbreak and Restaurants.

Adriano de Souza (BRA), 25, current ASP World No. 4, has led the South American charge this year on tour, finishing Runner-Up at the opening stop on the Gold Coast before posting strong results at Bells Beach and in Rio de Janeiro.

“I think Gold Coast event gave me a lot of confidence that’s why I’m still in the Top 5,” De Souza said. “This season I’ve had more fun than other season. I always try to grab positives things that I’ve been doing the last seven years on tour and apply them to what I’m doing now. I think that’s why the results have been strong for me so far and I’m looking forwarding to the rest of the year.”

Article continues below...

Jadson Andre (BRA), 22, and Dusty Payne (HAW), 23, have withdrawn from the event due to injury. They will be replaced by Willian Cardoso (BRA), 26, and Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), 30, respectively.

When competition commences, up first will be Jordy Smith (ZAF), 24, Brett Simpson (USA), 27, and Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), 30, in the opening heat of Round 1.

The Volcom Fiji Pro will take place from June 3 – 15, 2012.


Heat 1: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Brett Simpson (USA), Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)
Heat 2: Josh Kerr (AUS), C.J. Hobgood (USA), Patrick Gudauskas (USA)
Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS), Damien Hobgood (USA), Taylor Knox (USA)
Heat 4: Adriano de Souza (BRA), BedeDurbidge (AUS), Willian Cardoso (BRA)
Heat 5: Kelly Slater (USA), Kai Otton (AUS), Mitch Coleborn (AUS)
Heat 6: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Raoni Monteiro (BRA), Isei Tokovu (FIJ)
Heat 7: Owen Wright (AUS), Tiago Pires (PRT), Yadin Nicol (AUS)
Heat 8: Mick Fanning (AUS), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Matt Wilkinson (AUS)
Heat 9: John John Florence (HAW), Miguel Pupo (BRA), Kieren Perrow (AUS)
Heat 10: Julian Wilson (AUS), Heitor Alves (BRA), Kolohe Andino (USA)
Heat 11: Jeremy Flores (FRA), Gabriel Medina (BRA), Travis Logie (ZAF)
Heat 12: Michel Bourez (PYF), Alejo Muniz (BRA), Adam Melling (AUS)

Related Posts