Mally swims his 59 Redhouse Mile

South Africa’s oldest open water swim event, the Redhouse River Mile was a one man show as veteran swimmer from Jeffreys Bay; Mally Richards swam his 59th mile. This is a record that will probably never be beaten.

Jessica Roux won her first title at the Redhouse River Mile . Photo: RRAD

Another Jeffreys Bay swimmer, Brenton Williams also established a new record at the Redhouse Mile by becoming the first person to ever swim the mile using only the butterfly stroke, regarded as the most difficult of all the swim strokes.

Jessica Roux, the queen of the Steers Marina Mile added another title to her name by winning the Redhouse River Mile for the first time.

“I have wanted to win the Redhouse for a long time now and am really happy that it has eventually happened”, said Roux after the race. It was a tough swim with Jessica Liss setting a fast pace but I remained calm and made my move towards the end of the race.

Olympian Troy Prinsloo travelled down from Durban and dominated the men’s race to win his first ever Redhouse River Mile title.

“It was a fast race and we had the current pushing us the whole way so I could really put my head down and have a fast swim”, said Prinsloo who also won silver at the Midmar Mile last weekend.

Troy Prinsloo dominated the 2012 Redhouse River Mile

The South African 5 K champion, who won his title at Marina Martinique at the SA Champs last year, is hoping to be back in Jeffreys Bay to swim a 10 K event in March as he goes about trying to qualify for the marathon swim at the Olympic Games in London later this year.

Up and coming swimmer Caro de Jager finished in the top 10 in the women’s Mile, indicating that she is a swimmer who could well challenge for top honours in time to come.

Article continues below...

Seth de Swart (12 yrs) was the youngest finisher in the top 30, also proved he stands a chance of competing for top honours in years to come.

Seth de Swart had a great swim in the 2012 Redhouse River Mile

The next open water swim event is 4 March at Marina Martinique.

Women’s Mile

1. Jessica Roux
2. Jessica Liss
3. Megan Van Wyk
4. Carmel Billson
5. Lauren Billson
6. Genna Greevelink
7. Christie Vaughn
8. Lise Mari Goosen
9. Caro de jager
10. Michaela Barnes

Men’s Mile

1. Troy Prinsloo
2. Thomas Hansford
3. Chris Reid
4. Andrew Fischer
5. Allard bassoon
6. Jonothan Roux
7. Alaric Basson
8. Keenan April
9. Nizaam Kafaar
10. Elrich Botha

Related Posts