Lightfoot and Petersen to surf in SA Open

Port Alfred’s Main Beach will bring the 2011 Surfing South Africa Pro Surf Tour to a fitting conclusion when the Guido’s SA Open takes place there tomorrow.

Greg Emslie will lead the charge at Port Alfred

Former Mr Price Pro Champion and ASP World Qualifying Series surfer Ricky Basnett of Durban is competing as is Dan Redman, another top Durban competitor who also spent time on the ASP World Qualifying Series Tour.
Defending SA Open champion Greg Emslie of East London is top seed in this 2A Rated PST event that offers R 10 000 in prize money to the Men and R 5 000 in prize money to the Women.
Surfers who could surprise are ISA World Junior Championship silver medal winner Dylan Lightfoot of Jeffreys Bay, 2010 SA Open finalist Simon Fish of East London, 2011 SA Championship runner up Wayne Monk of East London and talented Remi Petersen of Jeffreys Bay.

Current SA Women’s champion Nikita Robb of Cape Town, South African Under 20 Champion Sarah Baum of Durban, 2011 SA Team member Tanika Hoffman of Kommetjie, multiple South African champion Tarryn Chudleigh of Kommetjie along with recently returned ASP World Qualifying Series campaigner and current EP Champion Faye Zoetmulder of Port Elizabeth will fight it out for the R5,000 on offer in the women’s division.
The event gets under way at 9 am today and will end at approximately 2 pm. The Award ceremony and year end celebration will take place at Guido’s in Port Alfred from 7 pm. All are welcome.

Article continues below...

Related Posts