Sports Council elected for Kouga

At a well attended meeting at the Humansdorp Country Club on the 15th November 2011, an interim committee of 4 people was elected to oversee the formation of a Kouga Sports Council (KSC) by no later than March 2012.
The members of this committee are:
• Mongezi Khatshiwe (soccer, Kwanomzamo) [email protected]
• Estelle Pietersen (netball, Hankey) [email protected]
• Jerome Matabiellie (rugby, Jeffreys Bay) [email protected]
• Trevor Watkins (volleyball, Jeffreys Bay) [email protected]

Trevor Watkins (left) is the interim chairman of the Sports Council

This interim committee will draw up a draft constitution as the basis for the formation of the new KSC. The committee will register all the sports clubs, federations, and associations active in the Kouga area, as well as the individual sports players. These details will be used to form a federation for each sport and region in Kouga. Representatives from these federations will then meet to elect the official Kouga Sports Council, early in the new year.
Club and individual registration forms for the KSC are being distributed throughout Kouga by the Kouga Municipality. Contact Khalipha Nelani ([email protected]) on 042 200 2220 or Carina Strydom ([email protected]) on 042 200 2200 to obtain copies of the forms, or download them from the website at www.kougasport.com.

When it is formed the KSC will be responsible for driving the orderly development and promotion of sport within Kouga, as well as sports administration in the region. All funding applications will be channelled through the KSC, and the distribution of funds, equipment and facilities will only go to sports bodies registered with the KSC.
Please arrange to register your club and players as soon as possible. As an added incentive, the first 8 rugby clubs to register will each receive one brand new Gilbert XT300 rugby ball, courtesy of the Department of Sports, Recreation, Arts and Culture.

Article continues below...

Related Posts