Next stop Tahiti for pro surf tour

The Billabong Pro Tahiti, Event No 5 of the 2011 ASP World Title tour, is set to commence this Saturday at Tahiti’s world famous lefthander at the “end of the road”.

Damian Hobgood will be hoping to go all the way in the 2011 Billabong Pro. Pic: ASP

While past years haven’t produced solid conditions for the event, a flurry of swell activity in the South Pacific could see the 2011 Billabong Pro Tahiti open the event window in sizable surf.
The final two wildcard positions for the Billabong Pro Tahiti were decided yesterday with Brazilian Ricardo Dos Santos (BRA) and local Heiarri Williams (PYF) finishing first and second respectively in the Air Tahiti Nui VonZipper Trials at Teahupo’o in Tahiti.
Jordy Smith will be after his first ever title in Tahiti. Photo: ASP

2010: Andy Irons (HAW)
2009: Bobby Martinez (USA)
2008: Bruno Santos (BRA)
2007: Damien Hobgood (USA)
2006: Bobby Martinez (USA)
2005: Kelly Slater (USA)
2004: CJ Hobgood (USA)
2003: Kelly Slater (USA)
2002: Andy Irons (HAW)
2001: Cory Lopez (USA)
2000: Kelly Slater (USA)
1999: Mark Occhilupo (AUS)
The Original Jeffreys Bay Ugg Boot - by Instep Leather

1. Joel Parkinson (AUS) 25700 pts
2. Jordy Smith (ZAF) 24750 pts
3. Adriano de Souza (BRA) 22250 pts
4. Mick Fanning (AUS) 19500 pts
5. Taj Burrow (AUS) 18250 pts
6. Kelly Slater (USA) 16950 pts
7. Michel Bourez (PYF) 16000
8. Bede Durbidge (AUS) 15000
9. Josh Kerr (AUS) 13900 pts
9. Owen Wright (AUS) 13900 pts

Article continues below...

Related Posts