Another medal for South Africa at World Swim Champs

Cameron van der Burgh claimed South Africa’s second medal on the fourth day of the FINA World Championships in Shanghai, China yesterday.
This is the 23 year old Van der Burgh’s second bronze medal after finishing third in the 100 m breaststroke final on Monday night.

Cameron van der Burgh wins another medal for South Africa at the World Champs.

In one of the tightest races of the competition, Van der Burgh came third in a very tight finish. His time of 27.19 secured him a spot on the medal podium behind Brazil’s Felipe da Silva (27.01) and Italy’s Fabio Scozzoli (27.17).
“This happens sometimes in the 50m sprints,” said Van der Burgh. “But I came here to get a medal in the 100 m breaststroke as that is my main focus for the Olympics next year. I achieved that so I am satisfied.”
Van der Burgh still leaves Shanghai the fastest man on earth in the 50 m breaststroke this year, after his 26,90 sec dash in the semi finals.
Chad le Clos ended 5th in a very close 200m butterfly race, which saw Michael Phelps scoop the gold with a time of 1:53.34. Le Clos’s time was 1:55.07.
Michael Phelps on his way to victory in the 200 m butterfly at the World Champs.

Darian Townsend was one spot short of qualifying for the 200m individual medley finals when he finished 9th in the semi-finals. Townsend’s time of 1:59.49 was only 0.02secs behind Japan’s Yuya Horihata.
“My coach always told me that I must be at least third in the first semi-final, and that would have made it,” said Townsend. “I did feel better than this morning although I am not 100% at the moment.”

In the 100m freestyle semi-finals Graeme Moore and Gideon Louw came in 12th and 15th place respectively. Louw, who raced to a personal best time of 48.74 in the morning heats, touched the wall in 48.96 in the semi-finals, while Moore clocked 48.59.
In the morning heats, Karin Prinsloo finished 22nd overall in the 50m backstroke with a time of 29.03.
The fifth day of swimming action will include Prinsloo in the 100m freestyle, Darren Murray in the 200m backstroke as well as Neil Versfeld in the 200m breaststroke.

Article continues below...

Related Posts