Gina wins Roxy Wahine Cup

A local surfer from Jeffreys Bay won the U/16 division of the biggest women’s only surf contest in South Africa, the Roxy Wahine Cup.
Gina Smith clinched the title ahead of Nicole Pallet (Cape Town), Inge McLaren (East London) and Courtney Ellish (Amanzimtoti) in the final that was surfed at Durban’s New Pier. Gina won R1 000 for her efforts and 500 points.
Smith has been in fine form recently and has strung together a set of excellent results in surf contests.

Gina Smith is on a roll and has won yet another surf contest.

Sarah Baum (Amanzimtoti) emerged victorious today in the open women’s division.
17 year old Baum scored an impressive heat total of 16.50 out of a possible 20 points to earn herself the winner’s cheque of R10 000.
Bianca Buitendag (George) who had just beaten Baum in the U20 Pro Junior division was convincingly beaten by an on-form Baum to finish second in the open women’s division. “I am very happy with winning the event, I would have been stoked to win both divisions but couldn’t seem to find my rhythm in the previous final. This win definitely gives me a lot of confidence going into my next few competitions,” said an elated Baum who spends most of her time surfing at the competition venue, New Pier.
Chantelle Rautenbach (Melkbosstrand) and Tasha Mentasti (Cape Town) finished 3rd and 4th respectively in the same final.
Gina Smith, 2nd from left with the other winners at the Roxy Wahine Cup

In the U20 ASP Pro Junior division final it was Buitendag who got the better of fierce rival Baum by posting two high scores in the 8 point region. Buitendag won herself R7 000 in prize money and an automatic slot into the ASP World Pro Junior Series to be held later on in the year.
Baum managed to place second with a heat total score of 13.25 points, Heidi Palmboom (Bluff) and Faye Zoetmulder (Cape St. Francis) placed 3rd and 4th respectively.

The U14 girls final was tightly contested and the girls did extremely well in the testing conditions. Chanelle Botha (Amanzimtoti) claimed first place ahead of Mahe Javengny (Reunion Island), Teal Hogg (Durban) and Kelly Simkiss (Durban).

Article continues below...

Related Posts