Eastern Province come 3rd at SA Surf Champs

Defending champions Border retained the coveted President’s Cup at the 2011 Billabong SA Surfing Championships which was completed in clean, offshore four foot surf at Seal Point in Cape St Francis on Sunday ( 15May).

Greg Emslie - the 2011 SA Surfing Champion

Not only did the team from East London win the 46th team title for the second year in a row but they also produced the Open Men’s champion in Greg Emslie, the runner up and Surfer of the Contest recipient Wayne Monk as well as the Women’s champion in Nikita Robb.
This was Emslie’s second title in a row and his fourth SA Championship victory. He joins George Thomopoulos on four SA Championship wins and one more will see him match Chris Knutsen.
Robb returned from competing on the World Qualifying Series to represent her beloved Border and it proved to be a good decision. 2010 National Team member Chantelle Rautenbach of Boland was second in the Women’s final.
Western Province surfer Nick Godfrey, who grew up surfing Seal Point, beat Steven Sawyer of Eastern Province to win his second Under 20 Boys crown in three years while Sarah Baum of KZN Central edged fellow National Junior Team member Bianca Buitendag of Southern Cape to take honours in the Under 20 Girls division.
Steven Sawyer was the top placed J'Bay surfer at the SA Champs. Photo: Cara Sawyer

The four new champions, who shared R30,000 in prize money, were awarded their trophies by Surfing South Africa President Mark Hoffman, Vice President Ant Brodowicz, Board Director Emile Zoetmulder and legendary coach Graham Hynes.
Open Men
1st – Greg Emslie (Border)
2nd – Wayne Monk (Border)
3rd – Klee Strachan – (KZN Central)
4th- Casey Grant – (Southern KZN)
Open Women
1st – Nikita Robb (Border)
2nd – Chantelle Rautenbach (Boland)
3rd – Michelle Imeson (Southern KZN)
4th – Tasha Mentasti (Boland)
U20 Boys
1st- Nick Godfrey (W.P)
2nd – Steven Sawyer (E.P)
3rd – Matt Bromley (W.P)
4th – Dylan Lightfoot (E.P)
U20 Girls
1st – Sarah Baum (KZN Central)
2nd – Bianca Buitendag (Southern Cape)
3rd – Faye Zoetmulder (E.P)
4th – Emma Smith (E.P)
Surfer of the Contest
Wayne Monk (Border)

Team Spirit award
President’s Cup
1st – Border 43,464 points
2nd – KwaZulu-Natal Central 41,836 points
3rd – Eastern Province 41,200 points
4th – Western Province 39,844 points
5th – Southern KwaZulu-Natal 37,634 points
6th – Boland 32,300 points
7th – Southern Cape 29,630 points
8th – Zululand 19,910 points

Article continues below...

Related Posts