18 May is voting day in South Africa

South Africa’s 2011 local government elections take place on Wednesday, 18 May. Use this handy fact file to make sure you know when, where and how to vote.
Independent Electoral Commission
All elections in South Africa are overseen by the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC), a permanent body created by the Constitution to manage free and fair elections at all levels of government.

The 2011 municipal elections are taking place in eight metropolitan councils, 226 local councils, 44 district councils and 4 277 wards.
As with national and provincial elections, municipal elections take place every five years. The five year term of the present municipal administrations started on 2 March 2006 and has now ended.
There are three types of municipal councils in South Africa:
Category A: metropolitan councils;
Category B: local councils; and
Category C: district councils.
In all local municipalities (like Jeffreys Bay) there are three types of elections in each ward:
Local council ward;
Local council proportional representation;
District council proportional representation.
Information for registered voters:
Registered voters can text their ID number to 32810, contact the IEC call centre on 0800 11 8000 toll-free from 8h00 to 17h00, or visit www.elections.org.za to check on their registration details.

Article continues below...

Related Posts