J Bay surfers in SA Team for Peru

The handing over of colours and blazers for the 2011 SA Team took place at the St Francis Resort on Saturday evening. Robin De Dock was master of ceremonies.
A new tradition was introduced this year with the ceremony of sands. 30 teams from all over the world that attend the world games must bring with them some local beach sand, which all gets mingled together to signify the uniting of all these lands.

In the photo is Etienne Venter, Steven Sawyer and Dylan Lightfoot who received their South African colours for the second time and a new member to the team, Emma Smith with Grahams Hynes, one of the greatest coaches in South African surf history.
Robin De Kock invited many of the old SA Team members from years gone by and it was great to see Johnny Paarman in the crowd and Ant Brodovich.
The team leaves for Peru this morning.

Article continues below...

Related Posts