J'Bay surfers for Quik Pro Junior

Durban will once again play host to the Quiksilver Pro Junior and King of the Groms. The 2 star ASP Pro Junior is in its fourth year and will see South Africa’s top contingent of junior surfers battling it out for a share of the US$ 10, 000 prize money and valuable ASP points on offer at North Beach.
Klee Strachan, Kyle Lane and Shaun Joubert are all former winners of  the event and this year is set to be the most competitive field to date. Beyrick de Vries (Umhlanga), Dale Staples (St. Francis), David van Zyl (Durban), Davey Brand (Cape Town) and Steven Sawyer (Jeffrey’s Bay) are all surfing unbelievably well and are eager to put their names on the US$ 2, 500 winner’s check.


Steven Saywer will be one of the favourites in the Quik Junior

North Beach is a very consistent beach break with multiple random peaks and is the perfect arena for spectators to get up close and personal when the action heats up in the water. The points on offer will count towards crowning the 2010 ASP Africa Junior Champion.
The Quiksilver King of the Groms is a PST (Pro Surf Tour) U16, U14 and U12 event that is sanctioned by Surfing South Africa. The U16 age group is the premier division in the event and the winner of the division will receive R5 000 cash and a berth into the International King of the Groms which will be held in France in October at the Quiksilver Pro France World Tour event.
All the winners’ expenses including flights for him and his coach as well as accommodation and meals will be covered by Quiksilver. The event will be held at Durban’s North Beach alongside the Quiksilver Pro Junior.

Article continues below...


Dylan Lightfoot honing his skills @ Supers

Last year saw Scottburgh’s Slade Prestwich taking the win over Kommetjie’s Jarred Veldhuis in small contestable conditions. Slade went on to place 3rd in France at the international finals while gaining valuable international exposure and experience.
Slade will be the favourite going into the 2011 edition of the event but will have the likes of Dylan Lightfoot (Jeffreys Bay), Diran Zakarian (Melkbos Strand), Max Armstrong (Cape Town) and Benji Brand (Cape Town) to contend with.

Related Posts