3 J'Bay surfers in Springbok team

The Board of Directors of Surfing South Africa has ratified the 2011 SA Junior Surfing Team which will compete in the 2010 Quiksilver ISA World Junior Championships in Peru from May 21 to 29, 2011.
The team was chosen after competing in two trials at Cape St Francis in December last year and in the first week of February.
Steven Sawyer has been selected in the U/18 division and this is the second year in a row that the J’Bay backhander has earned his national colours.

Steven Sawyer at Supertubes, Jeffreys Bay

Emma Smith will make her debut for the SA Juniors in Peru after having a great season in the competitive surf arena in 2010. Emma represented South Africa in a contest in Reunion Island last year as well.
Emma Smith surfing her way in the Junior Springbok team. Photo: Hika Du Plessis

Current Under 16 SA Champion Dylan Lightfoot will head up his age group and will be keen on making hos presence felt on the international stage after a good showing in a Junior Pro event in Australia. Lightfoot earns his second cap in 2011.
Dylan Lightfoot laying it on the line.

The J’Bay trio will be joined by Tobias Schroeder who has been selected to surf for Germany and will be up against his surfing mates from the beaches of Jeffreys Bay.
Surfing South Africa President Mark Hoffman has been appointed team manager with Theo Van Wyk the assistant manager. The coaches are Quintin Jones and Llewellyn Whittaker. The team will be involved in several training camps before departing for Punta Hermosa, near Lima, Peru in mid-May.
Tobias Schroeder will be surfing for Germany.

As a final preparation to the tournament the South Africans will defend the Lotto SANZ Trophy in the traditional SANZ Challenge against New Zealand at Punta Hermosa two days before the World Championships gets under way. The ninth edition of this friendly encounter sees the two teams competing for a unique trophy made from semi precious New Zealand stone and South African yellow wood. The trophy was first presented in Durban in 2003 and is currently held by South Africa.
Over 30 countries from five continents are set to attend the 2011 Quiksilver ISA World Junior Championships. The teams will be competing at the same venue where the ISA World Games were held last year.
The annual tournament determines the World Junior Team Champions, the World Junior ISA Tag Team Champions and medalists in the Under 18 Boys and Girls and Under 16 Boys divisions.

Article continues below...

Related Posts