Classic finish to 2010 ASP tour

Jeremy Flores (FRA) 22 won the Billabong Pipe Masters in memory of Andy Irons over Kieren Perrow in firing four-to-six foot backdoor barrels, marking his first career ASP World Tour victory.

Joel Parkinson (AUS), 29, was another to stand atop the Billabong Pipe Masters podium, clinching his third, consecutive Vans Triple Crown title to conclude the 2010 ASP World Tour season.

The winner of the Pipeline Masters: Jeremy Flores: Photo: ASP

Flores, who was in need of a solid 8.60 single-wave score in the dying moments, clawed his way back into the Final against Perrow and threaded the needle on a beautiful righthand barrel to earn a 9.37. Making history as the first European to ever win the Billabong Pipe Masters in the event’s 40 year history; Flores punctuated his season with his career-best result.

“This is such a dream,” Flores said. “I’ve been coming to Hawaii for so long and this is my favourite place in the world, the waves, the people, everything. I just knew I couldn’t give up in the Final even though I was behind. It’s the Pipe Masters and it’s everything. I’m so stoked.”

The 2010 Billabong Pipe Masters in Memory of Andy Irons represented Kelly Slater’s historic 20th event at the Banzai Pipeline and the ASP World Tour veteran took the time to reflect on his many years in Hawaii. “I have a lot of good memories here at Pipeline,” Slater said. “I think my first one (Pipe Masters) was my best memory, just because of the guys I was surfing against. I saw people like Tom Carroll, who won that year, and I just sat on the beach in awe. He was just amazing that year.”

Jordy Smith capped a fine season by ending second overall on the World Rankings after leading the pack at the half way mark on the 2010 tour.

Enter now for the Marina Mile

Billabong Pipe Masters Final Results:

1 – Jeremy Flores (FRA) 14.54
2 – Kieren Perrow (AUS) 13.77

Article continues below...

Billabong Pipe Masters Semifinals Results:

SF 1: Jeremy Flores (FRA) 17.50 def. Kelly Slater (USA) 17.23
SF 2: Kieren Perrow (AUS) 15.03 def. Dane Reynolds (USA) 6.83

Billabong Pipe Masters Quarterfinals Results:

QF 1: Jeremy Flores (FRA) 14.00 def. Owen Wright (AUS) 7.43
QF 2: Kelly Slater (USA) 12.94 def. Adrian Buchan (AUS) 3.16
QF 3: Kieren Perrow (AUS) 13.00 def. Jordy Smith (ZAF) 12.00
QF 4: Dane Reynolds (USA) 17.00 def. Taylor Knox (USA) 3.37

ASP WORLD TOUR TOP 10 (Following Billabong Pipe Masters)

1. Kelly Slater (USA) 69000 Points
2. Jordy Smith (ZAF) 52250 points
3. Mick Fanning (AUS) 44750 points
4. Taj Burrow (AUS) 42000 points
4. Dane Reynolds (USA) 42000 points
6. Bede Durbidge (AUS) 39000 points
7. Adrian Buchan (AUS) 37250 points
7. Owen Wright (AUS) 37250 points
9. Jeremy Flores (FRA) 35750 points
10. Adriano de Souza (BRA) 32000 points

Related Posts