Jordy Smith ready for Hurley Pro @ Trestles


Swell forecasts are looking promising for start of the Hurley Pro at Trestles, which runs from 12 – 18 September 2010. This is the 6th event on the 2010 ASP World Surf Tour. Billabong Pro winner Jordy Smith is the top seed for the event.

Jordy Smith the current World No. 1 surfer from South Africa, has been the standout throughout the first half of the season, blending a near-unparalleled brand of power surfing amidst a full repertoire of progressive aerials.

Jordy stamps down his authority at Supertubes, Jeffreys Bay. Photo: ASP

“I am approaching the last five events the same as the first five – just have fun,” Smith said. “At the beginning of the year, I told myself that if I went out and had fun and relaxed in heats, my surfing would be at the level I wanted it to be. I’m happy with where I’m at and looking forward to the next events.”

Despite a stumble in Tahiti, finishing Equal 17th, Smith has been consistent in 2010 and remains one of the favourites throughout the back half of the year. “I felt confident in Tahiti and was unlucky not to get the waves I needed,” Smith said. “Kelly Slater and Taj Burrow are going to be gunning for the World Title so the World Title race is going to get interesting. I have some really great boards at the moment and hopefully we can get some swell for the event.”

For the first time in the history of the sport, the ASP will unveil its new 36-man format at the Hurley Pro Trestles.

Kelly Slater will be a danger man at the Hurley Pro 2010. Photo: ASP


Heat 1:Dane Reynolds (USA), Chris Davidson (AUS), Luke Munro (AUS)

Heat 2:Adriano de Souza (BRA), Adam Melling (AUS), Brett Simpson (USA)

 Heat 3:Mick Fanning (AUS), Taylor Knox (USA), Travis Logie (ZAF)

Article continues below...

 Heat 4:Taj Burrow (AUS), Patrick Gudauskas (USA), Gabe Kling (USA)

 Heat 5:Jordy Smith (ZAF), Kai Otton (AUS), Rob Machado (USA)

 Heat 6:Kelly Slater (USA), Luke Stedman (AUS), Kolohe Andino (USA)

 Heat 7:Bede Durbidge (AUS), Jeremy Flores (FRA), Matt Wilkinson (AUS)

 Heat 8:Bobby Martinez (USA), Michel Bourez (PYF), Daniel Ross (AUS)

Heat 9:C.J. Hobgood (USA), Jadson Andre (BRA), Dusty Payne (HAW)

 Heat 10:Andy Irons (HAW), Tiago Pires (PRT), Tom Whitaker (AUS)

Heat 11:Adrian Buchan (AUS), Owen Wright (AUS), Roy Powers (HAW)

 Heat 12:Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), Damien Hobgood (USA), Kieren Perrow (AUS)

Squad Training and Learn 2 Swim lessons. Ph 083 549 6795

Related Posts