Jordy still World’s Best Surfer after Billabong Pro Tahiti


Andy Irons the 3 x World Champion from Hawaii, has won the Billabong Pro Tahiti, beating C.J. Hobgood (USA) in an explosive Final in 3 – 4 foot waves at Teahupoo. He eliminated Kelly Slater (who was the only surfer to score a 10 point ride) in the semi Final.

Small Chope's is still a heavy place. Andy Irons taking a hit on the path to victory. Photo: ASP

  “I feel like I’m back,” Irons said. “I have to thank ASP for giving me the wildcard back here. My whole dream was to come back and just win one contest, and I’ve done that now. I want more. And to win at Teahupoo, it’s my favourite wave in the world. It’s a very special win.”

Hobgood, one of the premiere tuberiders in the world, was unable to find his way out of multiple barrels in the Final bout against Irons and was reflective in terms Runner-Up finish in Tahiti. 

Kelly Slater taking the drop at Teahupoo. Photo: ASP

Kelly Slater the nine-time ASP World Champion, looked the form surfer of the day, scoring the event’s first and only Perfect 10 in the Quarter finals for an incredible freefall layback barrel.

 Despite the Semifinal loss to Irons, Slater moves from 3rd to 2nd on the ASP World Title Race rankings, a mere 250 points behind frontrunner Jordy Smith from South Africa.

CURRENT ASP WORLD TITLE RACE TOP 5 (After Billabong Pro Tahiti)

Article continues below...

1 – Jordy Smith (ZAF) 30,250 pts

2 – Kelly Slater (USA) 30,000 pts

3 – Taj Burrow (AUS) 25,250 pts

4 – Dane Reynolds (USA) 23,750 pts

5 – Adriano de Souza (BRA) 23,250 pts

Related Posts