Jordy Smith – 1st South African to ever win the Billabong Pro


With huge support from the packed beach ,local favourite Jordy Smith won the 2010 Jeffreys Bay Billabong Pro in 2-3 ft waves at Supertubes.

Overcoming a jittery display in the semi final, Jordy caught the first wave of the final and shredded it down the point. World Tour rookie Adam Melling never had a look in and Jordy kept a stranglehold on proceeding to win his first ever ASP title.

Jordy Smith - Billabong Pro champ and new world number one. Photo: ASP

Smith is also the number one ranked surfer in the world afer overtaking Kelly Slater who was defeated by fellow South African Sean Holmes in round 3.

The beach erupted afer the final siren, with an outpouring of patriotism as Jordy was carried up the beach. The “gees” is alive and well in South Africa, and just to crown it, today is Nelson Mandela’s birthday too.

Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay Final Results: 

1 – Jordy Smith (RSA) 17.93
2 – Adam Melling (AUS) 10.00

Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay Semifinal Results: 

SF 1: Jordy Smith (RSA) 14.83 def. Bede Durbidge (AUS) 14.40
SF 2: Adam Melling (AUS) 14.00 def. Taj Burrow (AUS) 10.67

Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay Quarterfinal Results: 

Article continues below...

QF 1: Jordy Smith (ZAF) 16.43 def. Adriano de Souza (BRA) 9.20
QF 2: Bede Durbidge (AUS) 12.17 def. Sean Holmes (ZAF) 11.83
QF 3: Taj Burrow (AUS) 11.00 def. Dane Reynolds (USA) 3.66
QF 4: Adam Melling (AUS) 16.43 def. Damien Hobgood (USA) 5.67

Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay Remaining Round 4 Results:
Heat 8:
Adam Melling (AUS) 17.07 def. Dusty Payne (HAW) 11.50

Current ASP World Title Race Top 10 (after South Africa): 

Jordy Smith (ZAF) 28500 pts
2. Taj Burrow (AUS) 24750 pts
3. Kelly Slater (USA) 23500 pts
4. Dane Reynolds (USA) 20000 pts
5. Adriano de Souza (BRA) 19500 pts
6. Mick Fanning (AUS) 19250 pts
7. Bede Durbidge (AUS) 18750 pts
8. Bobby Martinez (USA) 16500 pts
9. Jadson Andre (BRA) 16000 pts
10. Joel Parkinson (AUS) 14750 pts 



Related Posts