Sean Holmes to take on Kelly Slater in Billabong Pro


With surf continuing to pulse in the three-to-four foot range and an increase projected throughout the day, the Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay has been called ON, with the opening heat hitting the water at 7:30am.

The event has already bore witness to some massive upsets, stunning performances and perfect waves in the two opening days of competition. With swell on tap and the worlds best prepped and fired up, today promises to be yet another exciting exchange amongst the greatest assemblage of surfing talent in history.

South Africa will be hoping that Sean Holmes defeats Kelly Slater. Photo:ASP

 “We’re pleasantly surprised to see some great waves coming through this morning and projections are looking good for it to only get better as the day continues,” Richie Porta, ASP International Head Judge, said. “We’ll be commencing at 7:30am and expect to have another full day of competition.”

 The day promises a bevy of high-profile match-ups including former nine-time ASP World Champion and current ASP World No. 1, Kelly Slater (USA), 38, against lethal wildcard Sean Holmes (ZAF), 32.

 Up first this morning is 2010 ASP World Tour rookie Tanner Gudauskas (USA), 22, against current ASP World No. 10 Bede Durbidge (AUS), 27, in the opening heat of the day when competition resumes.

 Surfline, official forecasters for the Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay, are calling for an increase in surf over the next 24 hours.

 The waiting period for the Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay will begin on Friday, July 15 and run through July 25, 2010.

Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay Remaining Round 3 Match-Ups:

Heat 5: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. Tanner Gudauskas (USA)

Heat 6: Fredrick Patacchia (HAW) vs. Matt Wilkinson (AUS)

Article continues below...

Heat 7: Luke Stedman (AUS) vs. Andy Irons (HAW)

Heat 8: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Sean Holmes (RSA)

Heat 9: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Joan Duru (FRA)

Heat 10: Tiago Pires (PRT) vs. Kekoa Bacalso (HAW)

Heat 11: Dane Reynolds (USA) vs. Neco Padaratz (BRA)

Heat 12: Michel Bourez (PYF) vs. Brett Simpson (USA)

Heat 13: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Tim Reyes (USA)

Heat 14: Damien Hobgood (USA) vs. Dean Morrison (AUS)

Heat 15: Bobby Martinez (USA) vs. Adam Melling (AUS)

Heat 16: Chris Davidson (AUS) vs. Dusty Payne (HAW)

Related Posts