Jordy Smith is SA Surfer of the year

The 2010 South African Surfing Awards presented by Zigzag and Surfing South Africa honoured the country’s finest surfers at Suncoast Casino this week.

The South African surfer of the year, for a second year in a row, is Jordy Smith. Currently ranked second on the WCT tour, Jordy is a genuine title contender for the Billabong Pro, which will be held in J’Bay later this month.

Jordy Smith - SA surfer of the year. Photo: Pablo Ponzone

The Blowing Up Performer Award, awarded to South Africa’s most exciting up and coming junior surfer under the age of 20, was presented to Beyrick de Vries (Umhlanga) who has wreaked havoc on the local contest scene, stepped it up overseas with an impressive ASP WQS campaign beyond his years, captained the SA team, and set the benchmark with his freesurfing.

Article continues below...
Beyrick de Vries is making waves in SA surfing. photo: Pablo Ponzone

Big wave surfers Chris Bertish and Grant “Twiggy” Baker were awarded with their national blazers. Bertish also walked away with the “pushing the boundaries “award for his courageous ability to surf some of the biggest waves in the world.

Twiggy Baker and Chris Bertish are at the forefront of the big wave riders in South Africa. Photo: Pablo Ponzone

Related Posts