East London surfers qualify for world tour

Rosy Hodge (22) a Queensberry Bay local and Nikita Robb (20) also from East London qualified for the 2010 ASP Women’s WCT.

Hodge made the cut for the third year in a row as she seeded 10th on the WCT rankings after the last event of the 2009 Tour this week, the Billabong Pro Maui. Hodge grew up suring the powerful walls of Queensberry Bay which has prepared her for battle on the World Tour.  South Africa’s most successful pro surfer, Greg Emslie also claims Queensberry Point as his local break.

[picapp align=”center” wrap=”false” link=”term=rosy+hodge&iid=3212684″ src=”4/8/8/f/f7.JPG?adImageId=8242412&imageId=3212684″ width=”500″ height=”333″ /]

What this does for women’s surfing in South Africa is amazing as it shows that with dedication and a passion for the lifestyle – not to mention hard work and surfing your heart out – anything is possible. It is the first year ever that will see South Africa with two representatives on the female circuit.

Article continues below...

Both the slum town women will be following in the footsteps of another great South African surfer, Wendy Botha who also grew up in East London.  Botha went on to win 4 world titles in the late 1980’s and early 1990’s and was inducted into the Surfing Walk of Fame in 2009.  Wendy was raised on a diet of powerful Nahoon Reef waves and became well regarded on the international stage for her exploits in big surf.

Wendy Botha 4 x world surfing champion

The ASP Women’s World Championship Tour (WCT) sees 17 of the world’s top female surfers compete in 7 events around the world for the prestigious title of ASP Women’s World Champion. Stephanie Gilmore has clinched the title for the third year in a row this year.

The 2010 WCT contestants are:
Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)
Silvana Lima (BRA)
Sofia Mulanovich (PER)
Coco Ho (HAW)
Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS)
Melanie Bartels (HAW)
Chelsea Hedges (AUS)
Paige Hareb (NZL)
Rebecca Woods (AUS)
Rosanne Hodge (RSA)
Jessi Miley-Dyer (AUS)
Carissa Moore (HAW)
Claire Bevilacqua (AUS)
Lee Ann Curren (FRA)
Bruna Schmitz (BRA)
Nikita Robb (RSA)

Related Posts