The Eddie runs in huge surf at Waimea Bay

Californian Greg Long has won the 2009 Quiksilver In Memory Of Eddie Aikau in giant surf at Waimea Bay, Hawaii. Greg beat former event winner and World Champion Kelly Slater, former World Champion Sunny Garcia and former event winner Bruce Irons in the final.

[picapp align=”center” wrap=”false” link=”term=Eddie+Aikau+surf+contest&iid=7342510″ src=”d/a/5/1/Big_Wave_Surfers_d98e.jpg?adImageId=8198806&imageId=7342510″ width=”500″ height=”332″ /]
The surf at Waimea picked up during the one-day event and by the end of the day there were a couple of 40-foot sets closing out The Bay. Greg charged throughout the day and his scores included a perfect score 100-point ride for a 25-footer that he scratched into, took the drop and rode all the way through.

[picapp align=”center” wrap=”false” link=”term=Eddie+Aikau+surf+contest&iid=7342507″ src=”4/0/2/3/Big_Wave_Surfers_ed65.jpg?adImageId=8198849&imageId=7342507″ width=”500″ height=”333″ /]

The Eddie was most recently held 5 years ago, in December 2004 when it was won by Hawaiian Bruce Irons.  Long’s first Eddie Aikau invitation was earned last year, 2008.

“Just to be recognized among the [Eddie invitees] to me is a dream come true. You can only imagine how I feel standing here right now,” Long told the crowd after his big win.

Article continues below...

Long is one of the top big-wave chargers in the world and is one of the youngest of the 28 Eddie Aikau invitees this year. Born and raised in San Clemente (California), Long is known for his ability to conquer extreme, heavy waves, tracking and travelling to some of the biggest swells each year

Greg has had a massive year this year and this result sees him at the pinnacle of big wave surfing world-wide. He is now the only surfer ever to have won all 3 major big-wave paddle (non-tow in) events – the Eddie Aikau; Mavericks; and the Red Bull Big Wave Africa, which he won in 2003 at the age of 19.

[picapp align=”center” wrap=”false” link=”term=Eddie+Aikau+surf+contest&iid=2934896″ src=”7/a/9/4/d7.JPG?adImageId=8198833&imageId=2934896″ width=”500″ height=”333″ /]

RESULTS: Listed in order of 1st through 28th
Greg Long (California)
Kelly Slater (Florida)
Sunny Garcia (Hawaii)
Bruce Irons (Hawaii)
Ramon Navarro (Chile) * Monster Drop Award
Ross Clarke-Jones (Australia)
Jamie O’Brien (Hawaii)
Mark Healey (Hawaii)
Garret McNamara (Hawaii)
Noah Johnson (Hawaii)
Shane Dorian (Hawaii)
Makuakai Rothman (Hawaii)
Reef McIntosh (Hawaii)
Andy Irons (Hawaii)
Grant Baker (South Africa)
Carlos Burle (Brazil)
Kohl Chrtistensen (Hawaii)
Kala Alexander (Hawaii)
Peter Mel (USA)
Takayuki Wakita (Japan)
Ibon Amatriain (Spain)
Clyde Aikau (Hawaii)
Keone Downing (Hawaii)
Mike Ho (Hawaii)
Darryl ‘Flea’ Virostko (USA)
Brian Keaulana (Hawaii)
Rusty Keaulana (Hawaii)
Pancho Sullivan (Hawaii)

Related Posts