Five SA legends inducted into Rugby Hall of Fame

Twenty five greats of the game whose careers spanned three centuries have been inducted into the World Rugby Hall of Fame.

Naas Botha

Naas Botha

The list include five Springbok legends, namely Naas Botha, Danie Gerber, Hennie Muller, Morné du Plessis and Joost van der Westhuizen.

Players from seven different countries and a wide array of backgrounds were honoured at a special presentation in the Spirit of Rugby lounge at Wembley Stadium ahead of the eagerly-awaited RWC 2015 Pool C match between New Zealand and Argentina.

From pioneering 19th century Welsh tactician Gwyn Nichols to Rugby World Cup winners in Australian centre Tim Horan and South African scrum-half Van der Westhuizen, the latest induction list reads like a ‘who’s who’ of rugby.

Former Eastern Province player Danie Gerber is still highly regarded as one of the best players to ever represent the Springboks.

Playing mainly at centre, he won only 24 caps for South Africa despite playing internationally for 12 years because of South Africa’s sporting isolation caused apartheid

He did however play 115 games for Eastern Province, 40 for Western_Province and 24 for Free State in South African domestic rugby.

We watch Rugby

We watch Rugby

The full list of inductees into the World Rugby Hall of Fame (in alphabetical order) is:

Phil Bennett (Wales), Naas Botha (South Africa), Gordon Brown (Scotland), Marcel Communeau (France), Gerald Davies (Wales), Mervyn Davies (Wales), Danie Gerber (South Africa), Tim Horan (Australia), Andy Irvine (Scotland), Carwyn James (Wales), Barry John (Wales), Tom Kiernan (Ireland), Gwyn Nicholls (Wales), Basil Maclear (Ireland), Bill McLaren (Scotland), Edgar Mobbs (England), Hennie Muller (South Africa), Morné du Plessis (South Africa), Ronald Poulton-Palmer (England), Tom Richards (Australia), Jean-Pierre Rives (France), Fergus Slattery (Ireland), Wavell Wakefield (England), Joost van der Westhuizen (South Africa) and John Lewis Williams (Wales).

View News By Category
News Archive